Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Singlespeed & Fixed Gear
Reload this Page >

Quick questions and answers

Notices
Singlespeed & Fixed Gear "I still feel that variable gears are only for people over forty-five. Isn't it better to triumph by the strength of your muscles than by the artifice of a derailer? We are getting soft...As for me, give me a fixed gear!"-- Henri Desgrange (31 January 1865 - 16 August 1940)

Quick questions and answers

Old 06-17-16, 04:25 PM
  #1101  
IAmSam
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,423
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 326 Post(s)
Liked 107 Times in 54 Posts
Originally Posted by jacobsever View Post
I installed a new chain last week, put no additional lube on it. Did two 30+ mile rides and everything seems absolutely perfect. I know it's no century or anything, but 30 miles is still more than a quick ride around the neighborhood.
Yup a couple 30 miile bike rides definitely proves that anything you may have to say about riding bikes must be factual - right? - keep up the good work,,,
IAmSam is offline  
Old 06-17-16, 04:53 PM
  #1102  
SquidPuppet
Calamari Marionette Ph.D
 
SquidPuppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Coeur d' Alene
Posts: 7,862

Bikes: 3 Chinese Gas Pipe Nerdcycles and 2 Chicago Electroforged Boat Anchors

Mentioned: 74 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2356 Post(s)
Liked 20 Times in 17 Posts
Originally Posted by IAmSam View Post
Yup a couple 30 miile bike rides definitely proves that anything you may have to say about riding bikes must be factual - right? - keep up the good work,,,
So I guess you missed my post...the one with the actual facts. Good job.
SquidPuppet is offline  
Old 06-17-16, 05:12 PM
  #1103  
IAmSam
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,423
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 326 Post(s)
Liked 107 Times in 54 Posts
Originally Posted by SquidPuppet View Post
So I guess you missed my post...the one with the actual facts. Good job.
Good luck to you & your buddy Jacob - how silly of me (& any others) to have ever lubed our chain...
IAmSam is offline  
Old 06-17-16, 05:16 PM
  #1104  
motrheadsroadie
Senior Member
 
motrheadsroadie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA
Posts: 867

Bikes: stinner cx, paramount track

Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 8 Times in 6 Posts
where is this post that says to not lube your chain?
motrheadsroadie is offline  
Old 06-17-16, 05:48 PM
  #1105  
SquidPuppet
Calamari Marionette Ph.D
 
SquidPuppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Coeur d' Alene
Posts: 7,862

Bikes: 3 Chinese Gas Pipe Nerdcycles and 2 Chicago Electroforged Boat Anchors

Mentioned: 74 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2356 Post(s)
Liked 20 Times in 17 Posts
Originally Posted by IAmSam View Post
Good luck to you & your buddy Jacob - how silly of me (& any others) to have ever lubed our chain...
The factory lube seems to last longer than any aftermarket product that I have tried. Who said anything about not lubing?
SquidPuppet is offline  
Old 06-17-16, 05:49 PM
  #1106  
SpeshulEd 
Senior Member
 
SpeshulEd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 8,089
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 686 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
I don't understand why you'd apply more wax/lube to a new chain that already has wax/lube on it?
__________________
Hey guys, lets go play bikes! Strava

SpeshulEd is offline  
Old 06-17-16, 06:09 PM
  #1107  
Scrodzilla
Banned.
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 26,054
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 640 Post(s)
Liked 88 Times in 49 Posts
I still don't understand why it even matters what anyone does.
Scrodzilla is offline  
Old 06-17-16, 07:17 PM
  #1108  
seau grateau
Senior Member
 
seau grateau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: PHL
Posts: 9,914

Bikes: Litespeed Catalyst, IRO Rob Roy, All City Big Block

Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1320 Post(s)
Liked 325 Times in 155 Posts
#lubegate2016
seau grateau is offline  
Old 06-17-16, 07:34 PM
  #1109  
Helloworld123
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hello everyone

After seeing a documentary about bike messengers i have fallen in love with bikes and have decided to buy a bike.
I am looking to find the same bike i saw on the documentary but i just cannot find its name or model, i am asking for some help to be able to find that kind of bike, i will be posting the video link below, Thanks.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=zThITiFGORY
Helloworld123 is offline  
Old 06-17-16, 07:49 PM
  #1110  
seau grateau
Senior Member
 
seau grateau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: PHL
Posts: 9,914

Bikes: Litespeed Catalyst, IRO Rob Roy, All City Big Block

Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1320 Post(s)
Liked 325 Times in 155 Posts
Spotted Genetix decals on the frame about halfway through.
seau grateau is offline  
Old 06-17-16, 10:13 PM
  #1111  
tortron
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
the rider is Andrew Romashyna
you could find him easily enough

page 87
https://issuu.com/stokedonlinemag/docs/sofb_8

Last edited by tortron; 06-17-16 at 10:21 PM.
tortron is offline  
Old 06-18-16, 05:47 AM
  #1112  
TimothyH
- Soli Deo Gloria -
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Northwest Georgia
Posts: 14,783

Bikes: 2018 Rodriguez Custom Fixed Gear, 2017 Niner RLT 9 RDO, 2015 Bianchi Pista, 2002 Fuji Robaix

Mentioned: 235 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6834 Post(s)
Liked 691 Times in 439 Posts
Are frames with threaded headset/fork able to be converted to threadless by just removing the old headset and swapping in a new, threadless headset?

I mean, as long as it is the right size for the head tube, the headset just presses into the frame either way, right? Or no?
TimothyH is offline  
Old 06-18-16, 08:16 AM
  #1113  
hardboiled718
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 516
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 12 Times in 10 Posts
Originally Posted by IAmSam View Post
Wow - has it been a week already since this was posted? While I am sure just about everybody else here already knows it...that is incorrect



And this is too...
apparently everybody doesn't know since it looks like most people seem to agree the factory lubricant is sufficient for riding out of the box. Ideally you want as little lube as necessary so there's no reason to re-lube a pre-lubed chain.
now i feel dirty for mentioning lube so many times.
hardboiled718 is offline  
Old 06-18-16, 09:12 AM
  #1114  
cDiff Notorious
Senior Member
 
cDiff Notorious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 273

Bikes: Wabi Classic, Schwinn Madison

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Yeah, threadless headset are pressed. I think you can get a converter to be able to use a threadless stem instead of replacing the headset. But if your planning to replace the headset, you might need to get a 1" threadless headset.
cDiff Notorious is offline  
Old 06-18-16, 09:53 AM
  #1115  
TejanoTrackie 
Veteran Racer
 
TejanoTrackie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ciudad de Vacas, Tejas
Posts: 11,341

Bikes: 29 frames + 72 wheels

Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 821 Post(s)
Liked 128 Times in 73 Posts
Originally Posted by TimothyH View Post
Are frames with threaded headset/fork able to be converted to threadless by just removing the old headset and swapping in a new, threadless headset?

I mean, as long as it is the right size for the head tube, the headset just presses into the frame either way, right? Or no?
You will also need a new fork.
__________________
What, Me Worry? - Alfred E. Neuman

Originally Posted by Dcv View Post
I'd like to think i have as much money as brains.
I see the light at the end of the tunnel, but the tunnel keeps getting longer - me
TejanoTrackie is offline  
Old 06-18-16, 10:20 AM
  #1116  
TimothyH
- Soli Deo Gloria -
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Northwest Georgia
Posts: 14,783

Bikes: 2018 Rodriguez Custom Fixed Gear, 2017 Niner RLT 9 RDO, 2015 Bianchi Pista, 2002 Fuji Robaix

Mentioned: 235 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6834 Post(s)
Liked 691 Times in 439 Posts
Originally Posted by TejanoTrackie View Post
You will also need a new fork.
I already have the fork. That's why I'm asking.

Thinking of getting a frame but it comes with a headset for a threaded fork. I don't want that.



Originally Posted by cDiff Notorious View Post
Yeah, threadless headset are pressed. I think you can get a converter to be able to use a threadless stem instead of replacing the headset. But if your planning to replace the headset, you might need to get a 1" threadless headset.
Thanks for this. Not interested in a converter.

I wasn't sure how headsets for a threaded fork attach to the frame head tube but after looking at some pictures it appears that you are correct, it just presses in.

--

Gracias a los dos.

-Tim-
TimothyH is offline  
Old 06-18-16, 10:31 AM
  #1117  
TenSpeedV2
Senior Member
 
TenSpeedV2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 4,349

Bikes: Felt TK2, Felt Z5

Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 942 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 12 Times in 12 Posts
I like that Genetix Andrew is riding. All I could find was the TR1 on the Genetix website. Maybe he had it custom painted?
TenSpeedV2 is offline  
Old 06-18-16, 11:07 AM
  #1118  
SquidPuppet
Calamari Marionette Ph.D
 
SquidPuppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Coeur d' Alene
Posts: 7,862

Bikes: 3 Chinese Gas Pipe Nerdcycles and 2 Chicago Electroforged Boat Anchors

Mentioned: 74 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2356 Post(s)
Liked 20 Times in 17 Posts
Originally Posted by TimothyH View Post
I already have the fork. That's why I'm asking.

Thinking of getting a frame but it comes with a headset for a threaded fork. I don't want that.





Thanks for this. Not interested in a converter.

I wasn't sure how headsets for a threaded fork attach to the frame head tube but after looking at some pictures it appears that you are correct, it just presses in.

--

Gracias a los dos.

-Tim-
**Frames that accept 1 inch steerers and use external cups have just one head tube ID. They will receive threaded or threadless headsets designed for 1 inch steerers. Same thing with frames designed for 1 1/8th steerers and external cups.




** There are some oddball sizes on OLD French bikes and old BMX and Schwinns from certain yesteryear eras.
SquidPuppet is offline  
Old 06-18-16, 11:19 AM
  #1119  
Jixr
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Velodrome near me is having a new rider class tomorrow, wondering what gearing and tires I should use?

currently my steepest I have is 48-16, but I got a buddy who can sell me cogs at $5 each, so I may see if he has a 15-14t

Tires I have 23's-28's laying around
Jixr is offline  
Old 06-18-16, 11:59 AM
  #1120  
TejanoTrackie 
Veteran Racer
 
TejanoTrackie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ciudad de Vacas, Tejas
Posts: 11,341

Bikes: 29 frames + 72 wheels

Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 821 Post(s)
Liked 128 Times in 73 Posts
Originally Posted by Jixr View Post
Velodrome near me is having a new rider class tomorrow, wondering what gearing and tires I should use?

currently my steepest I have is 48-16, but I got a buddy who can sell me cogs at $5 each, so I may see if he has a 15-14t

Tires I have 23's-28's laying around
You don't need a higher gear for a track class and 48 x 16 is more than enough. Any tires that aren't worn out are fine.
__________________
What, Me Worry? - Alfred E. Neuman

Originally Posted by Dcv View Post
I'd like to think i have as much money as brains.
I see the light at the end of the tunnel, but the tunnel keeps getting longer - me
TejanoTrackie is offline  
Old 06-18-16, 04:24 PM
  #1121  
Helloworld123
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I think he just paintes it green and put genetix decals, i searched every Genetix model and they did not have any model like that.
Helloworld123 is offline  
Old 06-20-16, 12:02 PM
  #1122  
IAmSam
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,423
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 326 Post(s)
Liked 107 Times in 54 Posts
Originally Posted by Scrodzilla View Post
I still don't understand why it even matters what anyone does.
Really kind of obviates the need for any enthusiast interwebz forums/groups at all - perhaps BikeForums would like to be the 1st to shut down?

But before they do...could someone please tell me again how this group feels about whether one should clean and relube their new chain or not, now? Hmmm?

Originally Posted by Scrodzilla View Post
No it isn't. As I've said numerous times before, the factory "lube" on most chains is only present to keep chains from forming surface corrosion while inside the packaging. No one wants to open a brand new chain and find surface rust.

You don't have to go crazy scrubbing it all off but I've found it's always a good idea to replace it with a quality wet lube.
Originally Posted by Scrodzilla View Post
The "lube" that comes on most new chains is typically just to keep them from corroding inside the packaging in the event of them sitting around in a warehouse for too long. If a chain was packaged dry, it would most likely be covered with surface rust by the time it got to you. I've found that it's best to clean as much of that waxy stuff off a new chain right out of the box and reapply a good wet lube.
Originally Posted by Scrodzilla View Post
I'm not trying to "discourage" anyone - except for people who think they know it all and end up sounding foolish.

First of all, the factory "lube" which comes on most chains is complete crap and is pretty much only present to keep chains from corroding in their packaging. Would you want to buy a brand new rusty chain? Secondly, chain-cleaning tools aren't very necessary for a singlespeed drivetrain and can be more of a pain in the ass than they are worth. Last but not least, the way eboston words his posts is ridiculous.

Considering I don't use master links, I wasn't necessarily "opposed" to anything he said regarding that miniscule aspect of his post. However, stating that master links create a weak spot and that pin removal creates a weak spot in the same series of run on sentences is just plain confusing. To add to that confusion, he states one shouldn't really need to clean their chain at all, yet it's a good idea to purchase a chain-cleaning apparatus.

Carry on.
IAmSam is offline  
Old 06-20-16, 12:26 PM
  #1123  
motrheadsroadie
Senior Member
 
motrheadsroadie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA
Posts: 867

Bikes: stinner cx, paramount track

Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 8 Times in 6 Posts
Chainwear Challenge: Quick Interview with Shimano - Bikerumor
motrheadsroadie is offline  
Old 06-20-16, 12:45 PM
  #1124  
seau grateau
Senior Member
 
seau grateau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: PHL
Posts: 9,914

Bikes: Litespeed Catalyst, IRO Rob Roy, All City Big Block

Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1320 Post(s)
Liked 325 Times in 155 Posts
Originally Posted by IAmSam View Post
Really kind of obviates the need for any enthusiast interwebz forums/groups at all - perhaps BikeForums would like to be the 1st to shut down?

But before they do...could someone please tell me again how this group feels about whether one should clean and relube their new chain or not, now? Hmmm?
Was it worth the time you spent sleuthing up those quotes to "win" an argument on the internet? FWIW I still say it's not necessary.
seau grateau is offline  
Old 06-20-16, 12:48 PM
  #1125  
thugpipe
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 328

Bikes: 2011 Origin 8 Bully, 2010 Dahon Silvertip, 2016 Respect Mini Velo

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Originally Posted by IAmSam View Post
Really kind of obviates the need for any enthusiast interwebz forums/groups at all - perhaps BikeForums would like to be the 1st to shut down?

But before they do...could someone please tell me again how this group feels about whether one should clean and relube their new chain or not, now? Hmmm?
I hate to state the obvious here but if you couldn't tell by now, there is no consensus on what is the right thing to do. This and any group is a conglomeration of opinions and you know what they say about opinions. I say pick an opinion that resonates and go with that, you can always try a different direction later if the one you chose doesn't live up to your expectations, then use your valued life experience to further the "conversation" the next time this comes up as it inevitably will.

personally i usually go with the lube that comes on the chain and then replace after the first cleaning, it has worked well for me but I can't say if it is the "best" course of action or not.
thugpipe is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.