Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Folding Bikes
Reload this Page >

Moulton 4 speed hub help needed

Notices
Folding Bikes Discuss the unique features and issues of folding bikes. Also a great place to learn what folding bike will work best for your needs.

Moulton 4 speed hub help needed

Old 07-29-17, 12:12 PM
  #1  
HighValleyRanch
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Moulton 4 speed hub help needed

The indicator chain has a broken link. One side came off and I managed to get it back in place but the hole is too big for the pin and can come off. I used tape to bind it together for now.

But unfortunately, it is exactly at the pivot point on the edge of the indicator nut, so shifting is not smooth. The past owner got away with switching the left longer nut to the right side so that the broken link was inside at the needed connection.

So being that these are very hard to find, what would you suggest?
I did find a Vince Warner in England that remanufactures these occasionally, but he only has a phone number for contact.
Perhaps I can write to him instead.

I read that you can substitute a 3 speed indicator chain by somehow attaching the new chain to the old four speed rod/tube that is female and attaches to the left side indicator rod? Has anybody done this?

Also, to. remove, do I have to worry about the right side shooting out as it is spring loaded? What, use a screw drive in the slot on the left side side and twist out the indicator arm on the right side?

Last edited by HighValleyRanch; 07-29-17 at 12:32 PM.
HighValleyRanch is offline  
Old 07-29-17, 12:28 PM
  #2  
fietsbob
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NW,Oregon Coast
Posts: 43,599

Bikes: 8

Mentioned: 197 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7607 Post(s)
Liked 1,309 Times in 822 Posts
Sturmey Archer hub? indicator chains consist of a rod going into the hub, threaded in, small thread size , then to pull around the funnel nut edge they use a little chain..

you good at making little rivets?
fietsbob is offline  
Old 07-29-17, 12:41 PM
  #3  
HighValleyRanch
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I might be mistaken. The enclosed photo from an FW hub expert shows that the left nut is also an indicator nut with window. On my Moulton four speed, the right longer nut doesn't have a window like on SA three speeds?

(The photo shows the author's emergency "kit" for getting the hub working just to get home in case the left rod comes undone and flies out and gets lost in which case the hub goes into neutral and cannot be ridden. A clever rod and wedge to get him going again). Maybe a good use of that window in the nut!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg
sturmey-blakeley-rest5.JPG (22.9 KB, 40 views)
HighValleyRanch is offline  
Old 07-29-17, 12:45 PM
  #4  
fietsbob
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NW,Oregon Coast
Posts: 43,599

Bikes: 8

Mentioned: 197 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7607 Post(s)
Liked 1,309 Times in 822 Posts
there is a new sturmey archer 4 speed hub, may be time for a new rear wheel?
fietsbob is offline  
Old 07-29-17, 04:32 PM
  #5  
HighValleyRanch
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I tried to unscrew the two rods and no go. It feels frozen and I don't want to try and force it for fear of breaking it inside and I would never be able to get the left side off then.

I can get to the broken link and have managed to straighten it a little. But the link plate on one side is broken I see, so any kind of rivet will not hold it in place. My best bet is to grind off the existing rivet, expose the single plate and then add a new chain and find a pin or rivet that will hold it together. Don't know where one finds a rivet that small though or what to use.

If this is not the right forum, maybe I should post this on Classic and Vintage for help?

HighValleyRanch is offline  
Old 07-29-17, 08:10 PM
  #6  
HighValleyRanch
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
UPDATE 7PM SATURDAY 7/29/17
So it was successful. I found an old Bike Forums post by RHM where he replaced the chain on a Sturmey Archer Indicator chain by filing out the old rivet and then attached a new section of chain using a nail as a rivet.

First photo shows clearly the new Brass Brad used as the rivet. Brass is nice because it peens nicely. The old chain is to the left, and I had a new chain from another project that I used for the project. As stated before, I could not separate the two rods in the FW hub and didn't want to chance breaking it necessitating rebuild the hub, so the difficult part of this task was working with it while in the wheel.



The second photo shows the new chain in the indicator nut. The repair is INSIDE the indicator nut and the entire part that drags over the outide of the nut is new, so this should work very smoothly.

Hope this post helps anyone else needing to do this repair. Not hard to do, but tricky if you have to do it on the wheel, and takes patience because the repair is dealing with very tiny parts.
HighValleyRanch is offline  
Old 07-29-17, 08:20 PM
  #7  
smallwheeler
Senior Member
 
smallwheeler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,379
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Originally Posted by HighValleyRanch View Post
UPDATE 7PM SATURDAY 7/29/17
So it was successful.
well done!
smallwheeler is offline  
Old 07-29-17, 08:57 PM
  #8  
HighValleyRanch
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
The bike came only with a 3 speed shifter, but I found a four speed for a good price on Ebay, so will really be able to test it out when it gets here. For now, after I redid the shifter cable and adjustments, it's working perfectly in the top three gears. Have to figure out what I want in gearing and order a new sprocket. The original rear 13cog is pretty high for this very hilly area, and the 18 I have on it now seems a little low for the flats. Maybe that will change when I finally get the low low working, because then it should work out to 44 inches low to 83.6 high (13 t cog).
HighValleyRanch is offline  
Old 07-30-17, 02:44 AM
  #9  
jur
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 7,391
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 318 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Originally Posted by smallwheeler View Post
well done!
+1
jur is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
EamonX1
Bicycle Mechanics
20
01-31-19 01:42 PM
Oliver Starley
Classic & Vintage
15
06-20-18 03:06 PM
DanielD
Classic & Vintage
7
06-26-16 11:36 AM
Airburst
Bicycle Mechanics
9
06-29-13 02:37 AM
flammenwurfer
Classic & Vintage
19
11-08-12 09:55 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.