Notices
Clydesdales/Athenas (200+ lb / 91+ kg) Looking to lose that spare tire? Ideal weight 200+? Frustrated being a large cyclist in a sport geared for the ultra-light? Learn about the bikes and parts that can take the abuse of a heavier cyclist, how to keep your body going while losing the weight, and get support from others who've been successful.

Trainers

Old 01-04-13, 03:33 PM
  #1  
fatpunk
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
fatpunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Moncks Corner, South Carolina
Posts: 117

Bikes: '12 Giant Sedona, '15 Specialized Crave

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Trainers

So I work 24 to 48 hours in a row with 1 or 2 days off before I go back to work. It doesn't leave me with a lot of time to get my training rides in. I'm contemplating picking up a trainer so I can at least do some training on my down time at work. What's everyone's feelings about them? The thought of pedaling no where fast doesn't appeal to me but at the same time sitting around and watching TV waiting for the next call doesn't sit too well with me either.

Any particular brand or style better than the other?
fatpunk is offline  
Old 01-04-13, 03:38 PM
  #2  
VegasVic
Senior Member
 
VegasVic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 4,165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I had a CycleOps Fluid trainer before I moved to Phoenix, I don't need one now.

No issues with it, just pedal away for a hour so while watching TV, boring as hell, but better than nothing.
VegasVic is offline  
Old 01-04-13, 05:02 PM
  #3  
magohn
Senior Member
 
magohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Woodinville, WA
Posts: 1,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by VegasVic View Post
I had a CycleOps Fluid trainer before I moved to Phoenix, I don't need one now.

No issues with it, just pedal away for a hour so while watching TV, boring as hell, but better than nothing.
+1 - No complaints with the Cycleops Fluid 2 after a bunch of miles.

My setup:
https://www.bikeforums.net/showthread...ghlight=magohn

Last edited by magohn; 01-04-13 at 05:10 PM.
magohn is offline  
Old 01-04-13, 05:08 PM
  #4  
kc0bbq
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,114

Bikes: 2006 Raleigh Cadent 2.0, 2016 Trek Emonda ALR 6, 2015 Propel Advanced SL 2, 2000 K2 Zed SE

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have the cheapie CycleOps wind trainer and it is solid as a rock, it just is making my ears bleed.

Need to stop down at my LBS and order a Fluid2 resistance unit and upgrade.
kc0bbq is offline  
Old 01-04-13, 05:20 PM
  #5  
CliftonGK1
Senior Member
 
CliftonGK1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 11,375

Bikes: '08 Surly Cross-Check, 2011 Redline Conquest Pro, 2012 Spesh FSR Comp EVO, 2015 Trek Domane 6.2 disc

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
I'm an advocate for rollers, to get the balance and "real feel" of riding while training.
Barring the desire for the learning curve involved with riding rollers, the Kurt Kinetic Rock 'n' Roll trainer does an alright job of letting the bike bob around to mimic real riding.
__________________
"I feel like my world was classier before I found cyclocross."
- Mandi M.
CliftonGK1 is offline  
Old 01-04-13, 05:25 PM
  #6  
vesteroid
Climbers Apprentice
 
vesteroid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,600
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
If I were just going to buy a standard trainer (one with no electronic features)....this : Kurt Kinetic. I have seen more positive feedback on this model than most of the other models combined. Oddly enough two of the lbs here use them for the saturday morning training sessions in the winter as well.

they have even just released a little upgrade thing to make it a power based trainer, and its way cheaper than a computrainer.


vesteroid is offline  
Old 01-04-13, 05:27 PM
  #7  
youcoming
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cobourg Ontario Canada
Posts: 2,206

Bikes: ParleeZ5/Parlee Chebacco/Trek Farley/Cannondale Slice/Burley Tandem

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 10 Times in 4 Posts
If you can only get one a trainer is more versatile in the fact that you get a more structured workout and have the ability to increase tension. On the other hand I'm a huge roller guy, I have just a cheapo set of small drum straight rollers and if you ride them enough you can stand on them. They are great for increasing ones ability to spin and increases bike handling which in turn increases speed on the road.
youcoming is offline  
Old 01-04-13, 05:41 PM
  #8  
magohn
Senior Member
 
magohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Woodinville, WA
Posts: 1,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by CliftonGK1 View Post
I'm an advocate for rollers, to get the balance and "real feel" of riding while training.
Barring the desire for the learning curve involved with riding rollers, the Kurt Kinetic Rock 'n' Roll trainer does an alright job of letting the bike bob around to mimic real riding.
I 'think' the KKRR has a weight limit of 300lbs. As I purchased my trainer at 295lbs, when researching, I did not want to chance snapping the RR functionality. Also, the KK takes longer to setup than the Cycleops. The Cycleops lets me mount/dismount my bike in seconds. The KK is a little more involved.

Cycleops 2 - the quick release system is awesome. I can mount/dismount in 10 seconds or less if I want to ride outside.

magohn is offline  
Old 01-07-13, 10:00 AM
  #9  
ill.clyde
Senior Member
 
ill.clyde's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Brodhead, WI - south of Madison
Posts: 2,928

Bikes: 2009 Trek 1.2

Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 1 Post
I'd love a Kurt Kenetic ... but my current one is a Blackburn.

I'm also hoping to get rollers later this year for next winter
ill.clyde is offline  
Old 01-07-13, 01:14 PM
  #10  
LocoCycle
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northern Cali
Posts: 80

Bikes: 2010 Marin Lucas Valley

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I was thinking of starting a new post....thanks I don't have to. So speaking of trainers...I just got a CycleOps Wind trainer. I was getting tired of the rain and etc stoppping me from at least doing somekind of riding. I have now used it three times...the biggest challenge is the not going anywhere part. But I am no different that anyone else...the mileage numbers are very important to me. How do you guys track your mileage when on a trainer? At this point I am riding for no more than 30 min without stopping...so i am thinking this has to be the same as my 30 min mileage numbers on a real ride? I might pick up another mount for my wireless computer and mount it on the back wheel and frame. Just curious how other are tracking themselves.
LocoCycle is offline  
Old 01-07-13, 01:20 PM
  #11  
magohn
Senior Member
 
magohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Woodinville, WA
Posts: 1,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by LocoCycle View Post
I was thinking of starting a new post....thanks I don't have to. So speaking of trainers...I just got a CycleOps Wind trainer. I was getting tired of the rain and etc stoppping me from at least doing somekind of riding. I have now used it three times...the biggest challenge is the not going anywhere part. But I am no different that anyone else...the mileage numbers are very important to me. How do you guys track your mileage when on a trainer? At this point I am riding for no more than 30 min without stopping...so i am thinking this has to be the same as my 30 min mileage numbers on a real ride? I might pick up another mount for my wireless computer and mount it on the back wheel and frame. Just curious how other are tracking themselves.
I use my Garmin 705. It has a cadence pickup on the back wheel. As Im in the garage, I 'cancel' the GPS search and the 705 then works like a regular wireless comp.
magohn is offline  
Old 01-07-13, 10:18 PM
  #12  
brawlo
Senior Member
 
brawlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,151
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 265 Post(s)
Liked 42 Times in 35 Posts
Originally Posted by LocoCycle View Post
I was thinking of starting a new post....thanks I don't have to. So speaking of trainers...I just got a CycleOps Wind trainer. I was getting tired of the rain and etc stoppping me from at least doing somekind of riding. I have now used it three times...the biggest challenge is the not going anywhere part. But I am no different that anyone else...the mileage numbers are very important to me. How do you guys track your mileage when on a trainer? At this point I am riding for no more than 30 min without stopping...so i am thinking this has to be the same as my 30 min mileage numbers on a real ride? I might pick up another mount for my wireless computer and mount it on the back wheel and frame. Just curious how other are tracking themselves.
From what you said, I'm guessing you have a separate bike in your trainer compared to your regular road bike? If that's the case then just buy a wired computer. You can get them for $10 over here or I bought one with cadence for $30. If you still use the trainer bike on the road, then another sensor might be your most practical bet.
brawlo is offline  
Old 01-08-13, 01:51 AM
  #13  
laxpatrick
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: WI Land of Bluffs and Couleees
Posts: 160

Bikes: Canyon, Gunnar, Speshes mtb and phat

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked 8 Times in 4 Posts
Had a CycleOps fluid, it leaked and ruined some carpet. Now riding 1upUSA, made here in WI, quiet and well designed with a stellar warranty...
laxpatrick is offline  
Old 01-08-13, 08:29 AM
  #14  
LocoCycle
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northern Cali
Posts: 80

Bikes: 2010 Marin Lucas Valley

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by brawlo View Post
From what you said, I'm guessing you have a separate bike in your trainer compared to your regular road bike? If that's the case then just buy a wired computer. You can get them for $10 over here or I bought one with cadence for $30. If you still use the trainer bike on the road, then another sensor might be your most practical bet.
yes currently I am using my road bike in the trainer. But that is going to change this weekend...you might have a good idea about getting a wired computer for the trainer bike.

Thanks
LocoCycle is offline  
Old 01-08-13, 08:39 AM
  #15  
BionicChris
Senior Member
 
BionicChris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 212

Bikes: 2012 Specialized Tarmac Comp, 2015 Merida Reacto 5000, 2015 Giant Trinity Composite

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I can identify with the OP - I work an 11 hour shift 2-3 days in a row, then 1 or 2 off, leaving in the dark and getting home in the dark.

If it wasn't for my trainer I would cycle 2 days a week maximum if the weather is good.
BionicChris is offline  
Old 01-08-13, 10:28 AM
  #16  
sstorkel
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 5,428

Bikes: Cervelo RS, Specialized Stumpjumper FSR Pro, Schwinn Typhoon, Nashbar touring, custom steel MTB

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Originally Posted by vesteroid View Post
If I were just going to buy a standard trainer (one with no electronic features)....this : Kurt Kinetic. I have seen more positive feedback on this model than most of the other models combined. Oddly enough two of the lbs here use them for the saturday morning training sessions in the winter as well.

they have even just released a little upgrade thing to make it a power based trainer, and its way cheaper than a computrainer.
I own a Kurt Kinetic Road Machine trainer and think it is very well-made. That said, I rarely use it: it's just too painfully boring.

The Kurt Kinetic power computer is a joke... unless they've changed it since I last looked at it? The one I remember measured your speed, made some assumptions about how much power was required to reach that speed, did a little multiplication and displayed the result. You can find the calculation on their website, print out some numbers with Excel, and save yourself $80.
sstorkel is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Cheese Head
Clydesdales/Athenas (200+ lb / 91+ kg)
5
10-01-15 08:04 PM
hhnngg1
Road Cycling
20
06-27-12 09:56 AM
dleccord
Road Cycling
10
02-17-12 03:14 PM
Gege-Bubu
Road Cycling
30
02-24-11 08:26 PM
guadzilla
Road Cycling
2
05-18-10 10:40 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.