Go Back  Bike Forums > Community Connections > Regional Discussions > Southern California
Reload this Page >

Road bike on Crystal Cove State Park Trails?

Search
Notices
Southern California Southern California

Search this Thread

Old 12-25-13, 05:38 PM
cjpeck

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I'm in the area for the week and was hoping to get in some hardpack riding on my road bike. Are the (non-singletrack) trails in crystal cove park suitable for a road bike (25c tires & disc brakes)? I have some dirt riding experience and am OK with a bit of a 'challenge'.
Old 12-25-13, 10:32 PM
Rumpled

Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
In a word, no. Crystal Cove and its neighbor Laguna Coast have a lot of steep fireroads and steep rutted singletrack.
From Ridge Park off of Newport Coast staying on the ridge "might" be OK.

Blackstar I've seen done on road bikes, and Maple Springs as well. Blackstar would be the easier one.
Woods Canyon Rd in Aliso Woods might be OK, but some sandy stretches.
Old 12-26-13, 10:09 AM
Pamestique 
Shredding Grandma!

Bikes: I don't own any bikes

Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rumble knows the trails well... There is nothing in El Moro/Crystal Cove that is suitable for a road bike. I suppose people do it but you would need wider tires and something preferably with a knobs.

Bommer Ridge (the top of El Moro/Laguna Coast Wilderness Park is harder packed as long as you stay on the main trail (Bommer Ridge) but like all dirt trails it can be rutty, sandy and in places, rocky, better suited for a mountain bike.

If you are looking to ride a designated bike trail and stay off the road... check out the Back Bay Trail. You can park at the Bonita Creek Park or along EastBluff to access the route - you can take the San Diego Creek Trail all the way up the foothills and back. Beautiful ride this time of year...