Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

Bikes, bikes, bikes...

Search
Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Bikes, bikes, bikes...

Search this Thread

Old 09-14-17, 09:07 PM
Two Wheel Slim

Bikes: Motobecane "Nobly"

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Bikes, bikes, bikes...

Eff'n bikes man! I tell ya...

I started riding again not toooo long ago after many years of not riding. Picked up my first road bike, a funky old thing of an unknown make, though almost definitely 80's Japanese. It was too big for me but I didn't know. I thought, "Ah ha! So this is what I've been missing!" Started riding everyday. Moved in to a tiny studio, and had to bring the bike into my upstairs apartment for lack of any secure outdoor parking.

Soon enough I replaced it. Found a ride of better quality, better fit, and a much more reasonable weight for hauling up and down the apartment stairs. It was a '81 Miyata 610. Soon again, I found yet another upgrade. Coincidentally, another Miyata. This one a 310 from 1986. 7-speed upgrade. Stiff! A nimble bike for sure.

As creatively as I tried, I just couldn't find a way to keep both bikes without losing precious real estate in the tiny living quarters. I decided which Miyata was the keeper, and sold the other as hard as it was to let it go. But I lavished the reclaimed space, thoroughly enjoying just one good bike! The 310. It became something like a friend.