Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Framebuilders
Reload this Page >

Altering lug and BB angles for cx style bike

Search
Notices
Framebuilders Thinking about a custom frame? Lugged vs Fillet Brazed. Different Frame materials? Newvex or Pacenti Lugs? why get a custom Road, Mountain, or Track Frame? Got a question about framebuilding? Lets discuss framebuilding at it's finest.

Search this Thread

Old 06-02-18, 10:38 AM
Saul KK

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked 11 Times in 7 Posts

Hi, I'm looking at making my first bike frame, and would like to do a lugged cyclocross style frame. I work as a metal worker, so I have access to an oxy acetylene setup, and a fair amount of experience with general metal working.

As I understand it, lug angles can be manipulated 1 or 2° per side of listed angle, but after drawing up the frame I think I want in rattlecad, my lug angles would need to be manipulated by quite a bit at the ST/DT junction (by 3.3°), and the HT/DT junction (by 2.3°),

This issue seems to be caused by the longer fork (403mm axle to crown), and the fact that I want a BB drop of 70mm.

So I guess I'm just after any advice on modifying lugs, like could I cut around the socket, then bend it to desired angle, mig weld it back up and grind it all smooth?

Or is there any simpler way to work around this issue, like a redesign of the frame?

​​​​​​Any help would be much appreciated!

Also I've been looking at getting the parts from nova cycles, in particular the Columbus chromor road OS tubeset.

I've attached a PDF of the rattlecad drawing.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf
road_frame_skk_.pdf (150.0 KB, 13 views)
Old 06-02-18, 11:45 AM
CliffordK

Mentioned: 217 Post(s)
Quoted: 18375 Post(s)
Liked 4,510 Times in 3,352 Posts
An option might be to go with seat tube and head tube lugs, but use a smooth bottom bracket shell, tig welded or fillet brazed.
Old 06-02-18, 12:50 PM
duanedr 

Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked 144 Times in 88 Posts