"The 33"-Road Bike Racing We set this forum up for our members to discuss their experiences in either pro or amateur racing, whether they are the big races, or even the small backyard races. Don't forget to update all the members with your own race results.

Racer Tech Thread

Old 03-11-16, 07:01 AM
  #3201  
Wylde06
Senior Member
 
Wylde06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 2,168

Bikes: Cannondale Six13

Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 7 Times in 3 Posts
Installed a 5800 cassette on my extra Aksium..and after a couple rides the top few gears are very noisy, and I can't figure out why. Anyone ever run into this?

It may very well be the cassette body on the hub, before I put the 11 speed cassette on I had a 5700 cassette on it that was "loose" in the same gears...
Wylde06 is offline  
Old 03-11-16, 07:40 AM
  #3202  
PepeM
Senior Member
 
PepeM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 6,710
Mentioned: 179 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2612 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 51 Times in 22 Posts
I would get them just because I love the looks, but that's a lot of money for shoes. Already have laced shoes anyway.
PepeM is offline  
Old 03-11-16, 10:59 AM
  #3203  
FFJ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: NYC
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by shovelhd View Post
There's a sweet Si 170mm standard on ST right now that is going to make somebody happy.
Sorry for my ignorance, but what is ST?
FFJ is offline  
Old 03-11-16, 11:06 AM
  #3204  
mike868y
avatar by Sean Powers
 
mike868y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: charm city
Posts: 9,284

Bikes: 2009 Specialized Tarmac Pro

Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
slow twitch
mike868y is offline  
Old 03-11-16, 11:18 AM
  #3205  
Harlan
Tyrannosaurus Rexitis
 
Harlan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Posts: 952

Bikes: Scott Addict 6870

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Been thinking about getting some more shoes for exclusively racing and nice weather. Very curious about lace-ups. Mine are old, stink, and my dog got a few bites in on a toe when (the shoes were brand new) she was a puppy a few years ago.

Also just received the Cervelo aero drop bar I snagged on ebay. It's very nice, and not a fake.

Thirdly, my training bike fell over when some idiot (me) left it leaning on the garage door from the inside and I opened it from the outside. The shifter got rotated in. I had to ride it like that for a ride and loved the more natural wrist position so much that I moved the other side to match. Also makes the levers easier to reach from the drops (5800). Debating doing this to the race bike with di2, will try when I install the new aero bar tonight.
Harlan is offline  
Old 03-11-16, 11:51 AM
  #3206  
Doge 
Senior Member
 
Doge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Southern California, USA
Posts: 9,501

Bikes: 1979 Raleigh Team 753

Mentioned: 142 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2935 Post(s)
Liked 42 Times in 33 Posts
Originally Posted by Harlan View Post
... The shifter got rotated in. I had to ride it like that for a ride and loved the more natural wrist position so much that I moved the other side to match. Also makes the levers easier to reach from the drops (5800). Debating doing this to the race bike with di2, will try when I install the new aero bar tonight.
I don't know how much you turn them in, but I do this a bit more than normal now with Di2 for two reasons...
1 Packing in the trunk of the car, levers can actuate if they are the most external thing. Solution is to disconnect battery - but that is a pain.
2 Racing knocking bars/hands on bars - just seems better to have the bar the farthest out. I'm replacing bars today on cable DA with smaller bars so we may adjust.
Doge is offline  
Old 03-11-16, 09:22 PM
  #3207  
shovelhd
Senior Member
 
shovelhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Western MA
Posts: 15,669

Bikes: Yes

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Wylde06 View Post
Installed a 5800 cassette on my extra Aksium..and after a couple rides the top few gears are very noisy, and I can't figure out why. Anyone ever run into this?

It may very well be the cassette body on the hub, before I put the 11 speed cassette on I had a 5700 cassette on it that was "loose" in the same gears...
Remove every spacer, including the Mavic proprietary spacer. If there's still a problem, then it's probably the freehub bearings, a common issue. There are fix kits for them on eBay.
shovelhd is offline  
Old 03-12-16, 10:04 AM
  #3208  
Harlan
Tyrannosaurus Rexitis
 
Harlan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Posts: 952

Bikes: Scott Addict 6870

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
@Doge

I'm giving it a try, also good reasons.

Installed this morning, routing was a pain as expected. I found that while the tops are level the drops start to point up from level, and they seem too long. There are cut guides on them so I guess Cervelo expects some trimming. They look miles too long.
Harlan is offline  
Old 03-12-16, 09:04 PM
  #3209  
spectastic
commu*ist spy
 
spectastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: inside my body
Posts: 4,402

Bikes: a few

Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 623 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I'm taking racing less seriously this season. thinking about selling my super awesome aero bike and race on my 20 lbs aluminum beater..
spectastic is offline  
Old 03-13-16, 05:58 AM
  #3210  
Harlan
Tyrannosaurus Rexitis
 
Harlan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Posts: 952

Bikes: Scott Addict 6870

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
It would almost be more fun. Training bike (Emonda) is a blast to ride fast with 27c tires.
Harlan is offline  
Old 03-13-16, 09:45 PM
  #3211  
spectastic
commu*ist spy
 
spectastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: inside my body
Posts: 4,402

Bikes: a few

Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 623 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
yea, I'm over the pursuit of the dream bike. It's almost like trying to keep up with smartphones. in a few years, people are going to want disc brakes. no thanks. function over form. no need to buy a rain bike as my main bike IS my rain bike. put on aero handlebars and aero wheels on race days. 95%+ of the functionality at 20-30% the cost. why not?
spectastic is offline  
Old 03-14-16, 06:46 AM
  #3212  
Harlan
Tyrannosaurus Rexitis
 
Harlan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Posts: 952

Bikes: Scott Addict 6870

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by spectastic View Post
yea, I'm over the pursuit of the dream bike. It's almost like trying to keep up with smartphones. in a few years, people are going to want disc brakes. no thanks. function over form. no need to buy a rain bike as my main bike IS my rain bike. put on aero handlebars and aero wheels on race days. 95%+ of the functionality at 20-30% the cost. why not?
You really swap handlebars? That sounds like a serious pain. Why not leave the aero ones on? Unless we are talking clip on TT bars.
Harlan is offline  
Old 03-14-16, 06:58 AM
  #3213  
topflightpro
Senior Member
 
topflightpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,270
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1229 Post(s)
Liked 20 Times in 14 Posts
I have to send my SRM in for battery replacement. I'm not too happy about this. I know this comes with the territory when dealing with SRM, but I'm annoyed because the batteries only lasted about 18 months. If I put 700 hours in on it, I'd be very surprised. The batteries are supposed to last 1900 hundreds hours, so I should have another 2.5 years in them at least.

Even the dealer who sold it to me agrees that I should not be needing battery replacement so soon. And yes, I bought the unit new, in case you were wondering.
topflightpro is offline  
Old 03-14-16, 07:38 AM
  #3214  
echappist
fuggitivo solitario
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 9,069
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 219 Post(s)
Liked 3 Times in 2 Posts
out of curiosity, do you have a pc-7/8?

my garmin has been telling me that one of my SRMs has low battery. ugh...
echappist is offline  
Old 03-14-16, 08:46 AM
  #3215  
topflightpro
Senior Member
 
topflightpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,270
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1229 Post(s)
Liked 20 Times in 14 Posts
Originally Posted by echappist View Post
out of curiosity, do you have a pc-7/8?

my garmin has been telling me that one of my SRMs has low battery. ugh...
PC8. Got a warning back in November that the battery was low. I called SRM, as it seemed weird I'd already be in need of a new battery, and the person I spoke with said it might be a mistake and to keep riding it until the battery was basically dead, which is what I did.
topflightpro is offline  
Old 03-14-16, 09:47 AM
  #3216  
spectastic
commu*ist spy
 
spectastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: inside my body
Posts: 4,402

Bikes: a few

Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 623 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Harlan View Post
You really swap handlebars? That sounds like a serious pain. Why not leave the aero ones on? Unless we are talking clip on TT bars.
I mean swap pads and wheels. Handlebars stay there
spectastic is offline  
Old 03-14-16, 10:23 AM
  #3217  
Harlan
Tyrannosaurus Rexitis
 
Harlan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Posts: 952

Bikes: Scott Addict 6870

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by spectastic View Post
I mean swap pads and wheels. Handlebars stay there
Gotcha, makes more sense.

The one bike to rule them all for me would have to be aero and have clearance for Parigi Roubaix tires so that's not happening for a while. Plus having a backup bike is nice.
Harlan is offline  
Old 03-14-16, 11:01 AM
  #3218  
Wylde06
Senior Member
 
Wylde06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 2,168

Bikes: Cannondale Six13

Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 7 Times in 3 Posts
Originally Posted by shovelhd View Post
Remove every spacer, including the Mavic proprietary spacer. If there's still a problem, then it's probably the freehub bearings, a common issue. There are fix kits for them on eBay.
Hmm, I thought I did..but I could have left the thin spacer on out of habit. Will have to pull it off tonight or tomorrow and check
Wylde06 is offline  
Old 03-14-16, 11:13 AM
  #3219  
mike868y
avatar by Sean Powers
 
mike868y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: charm city
Posts: 9,284

Bikes: 2009 Specialized Tarmac Pro

Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
are you sure it's not your b screw adjustment?
mike868y is offline  
Old 03-14-16, 12:00 PM
  #3220  
Wylde06
Senior Member
 
Wylde06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 2,168

Bikes: Cannondale Six13

Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 7 Times in 3 Posts
The top half of the cassette is just noisy. I have to adjust the derailleur when I put that wheel on, so maybe there is an extra spacer in there somewhere.
Wylde06 is offline  
Old 03-14-16, 01:24 PM
  #3221  
carpediemracing 
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Tariffville, CT
Posts: 15,092

Bikes: Tsunami Bikes

Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 2 Times in 1 Post
Hm. I was looking at that SI SRM on ST but when I looked into the serial number I learned that I may be able to retrofit my SRM spiders. So this is what I'm looking into. If I can't I can't, but if I can I can get the retrofit + a refurb PC7 from SRM for less than the SI SRM on ST.
__________________
"...during the Lance years, being fit became the No. 1 thing. Totally the only thing. It’s a big part of what we do, but fitness is not the only thing. There’s skills, there’s tactics … there’s all kinds of stuff..." Tim Johnson
carpediemracing is offline  
Old 03-14-16, 07:13 PM
  #3222  
spectastic
commu*ist spy
 
spectastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: inside my body
Posts: 4,402

Bikes: a few

Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 623 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Harlan View Post
Gotcha, makes more sense.

The one bike to rule them all for me would have to be aero and have clearance for Parigi Roubaix tires so that's not happening for a while. Plus having a backup bike is nice.
you can get 75% of the way there with aero front wheel and aero handlebars. aero helmet and skinsuit also help a lot, according to specialized wind data. the frame is one piece and according to cervelo, is worth less than the front wheel and handlebar, individually. considering it's the single most expensive component on the bicycle, my philosophy is to just get one that doesn't suck.
spectastic is offline  
Old 03-15-16, 06:24 AM
  #3223  
canuckbelle
Senior Member
 
canuckbelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 944

Bikes: Scott Foil 10, Di2

Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
What's people's recommendation for a good portable bike trainer used solely for race warm-ups? Ideally, I don't want to have to change a wheel skewer to mount/unmount. Also willing to be sold on rollers (which I haven't yet tried).
canuckbelle is offline  
Old 03-15-16, 06:48 AM
  #3224  
globecanvas
Ninny
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Gunks
Posts: 5,294
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 686 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
If you don't want to change the wheel or skewer, I think rollers are the only option.
globecanvas is offline  
Old 03-15-16, 06:50 AM
  #3225  
spdntrxi
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: East Bay Area ,CA
Posts: 1,553

Bikes: Parlee,BMC,Specialized and Trek

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by globecanvas View Post
If you don't want to change the wheel or skewer, I think rollers are the only option.
I agree... you can always setup the rollers next to your car ...for easy on/off
spdntrxi is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.