"The 33"-Road Bike Racing We set this forum up for our members to discuss their experiences in either pro or amateur racing, whether they are the big races, or even the small backyard races. Don't forget to update all the members with your own race results.

Racer Tech Thread

Old 12-07-18, 05:41 PM
  #5651  
caloso
Packfodding 3
 
caloso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sacramento, California, USA
Posts: 38,032

Bikes: Ridley Excalibur, Gazelle Champion Mondial, On-One Pompino, Specialized Rock Hopper

Mentioned: 57 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1818 Post(s)
Liked 139 Times in 85 Posts
This might sound like a dumb question, but this is the place, amirite?

I'm going to ask Santa for a new trainer and have been looking at the new smart trainers. Looks like most of them require external power to run the smart aspects, but can I use it to warm up for a race without plugging it in?
caloso is offline  
Old 12-07-18, 09:04 PM
  #5652  
ntnyln
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Columbia, MD
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 2 Times in 1 Post
Originally Posted by caloso View Post
This might sound like a dumb question, but this is the place, amirite?

I'm going to ask Santa for a new trainer and have been looking at the new smart trainers. Looks like most of them require external power to run the smart aspects, but can I use it to warm up for a race without plugging it in?

Of the higher end, the Tacx Neo is the only one that works without power. The rest are just a big weight and once you get the flywheel moving, there is no real resistance without power. From a practical perspective, I have both a Neo and a gen 1 Kickr and they are both really heavy. I don't really even move them much and I would have to think really hard about hauling them to a race for a 15 min warm up.

If your looking and haven't decided, I would recommend spending the extra money and getting the Neo. I think it's a better all around trainer than the Kickr, although the new Kickr Core is a tremendous value if you don't want to spend that much.

https://www.dcrainmaker.com/2018/11/...ons-guide.html
ntnyln is offline  
Old 12-07-18, 09:37 PM
  #5653  
spdntrxi
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: East Bay Area ,CA
Posts: 1,553

Bikes: Parlee,BMC,Specialized and Trek

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Kickr Core... bang for the buck.

Neo2 would be my choice if I was to get another. I own Neo 1
spdntrxi is offline  
Old 12-08-18, 08:38 PM
  #5654  
Ttoc6
Cat 3
 
Ttoc6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: UT
Posts: 1,449

Bikes: CAAD 10 / CAAD X / Scalpel

Mentioned: 88 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 566 Post(s)
Liked 55 Times in 26 Posts
I sometimes bring my kickr to races and use a small inverter with my car to power it.
Ttoc6 is offline  
Old 12-09-18, 05:55 AM
  #5655  
topflightpro
Senior Member
 
topflightpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,274
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1232 Post(s)
Liked 21 Times in 15 Posts
If you specifically want something to warm up at races, the Feedback Omnium is a pretty good option. I have the track version. But it's not a smart trainer, and I'm not sure how good it is for regular training.
topflightpro is offline  
Old 12-12-18, 12:27 PM
  #5656  
Ygduf
¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Ygduf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Redwood City, CA
Posts: 10,976

Bikes: aggressive agreement is what I ride.

Mentioned: 108 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 967 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Originally Posted by Ttoc6 View Post
I sometimes bring my kickr to races and use a small inverter with my car to power it.
I do this as well. it requires power but I read somewhere that it was very very little power. like 5w.
Ygduf is offline  
Old 12-12-18, 09:51 PM
  #5657  
Ttoc6
Cat 3
 
Ttoc6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: UT
Posts: 1,449

Bikes: CAAD 10 / CAAD X / Scalpel

Mentioned: 88 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 566 Post(s)
Liked 55 Times in 26 Posts
Originally Posted by Ygduf View Post
I do this as well. it requires power but I read somewhere that it was very very little power. like 5w.
Team sky had a rig that ran off marine batteries for their kickrs.i just turn my car on.
Ttoc6 is offline  
Old 12-13-18, 11:32 AM
  #5658  
Ygduf
¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Ygduf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Redwood City, CA
Posts: 10,976

Bikes: aggressive agreement is what I ride.

Mentioned: 108 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 967 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Originally Posted by Ttoc6 View Post
Team sky had a rig that ran off marine batteries for their kickrs.i just turn my car on.
yeah, when searching about how to run it remotely I saw that article which then let me feel just fine running it off my car battery w/o concern. I'm really never going to use it more than 15 minutes to warm up for an event.
Ygduf is offline  
Old 12-17-18, 12:30 AM
  #5659  
mattm
**** that
 
mattm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CALI
Posts: 15,363
Mentioned: 147 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1070 Post(s)
Liked 21 Times in 6 Posts
Originally Posted by Ygduf View Post
yeah, when searching about how to run it remotely I saw that article which then let me feel just fine running it off my car battery w/o concern. I'm really never going to use it more than 15 minutes to warm up for an event.
Bro. Rollers.
__________________
cat 1.

my race videos
mattm is offline  
Old 12-17-18, 12:40 AM
  #5660  
mattm
**** that
 
mattm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CALI
Posts: 15,363
Mentioned: 147 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1070 Post(s)
Liked 21 Times in 6 Posts
Is it A Thing that "tubeless ready" rims are SUPER f-ing hard to mount non-tubeless tires on to?

I got some DT Switss P1600's for training wheels - they're "tubeless ready" but I just want to run them with gp4000s & tubes.

I gave up after five minutes of struggling to get the tire on.. I could maybe get it done, but really wondering if I want to repeat that struggle on the side of the road. Much less on the side of the road in the rain..

Perusing the user manual, it says to use "soap & water" to mount the tires... wtf.

Maybe it's just these wheels, maybe the tire, maybe it's just me, dunno.

Anyway anyone have experience with these? Or mounting regular tires on "tubeless ready" rims in general?
__________________
cat 1.

my race videos
mattm is offline  
Old 12-17-18, 06:42 AM
  #5661  
topflightpro
Senior Member
 
topflightpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,274
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1232 Post(s)
Liked 21 Times in 15 Posts
Yes, tubeless rims are harder to get tires on. And Contis tend to be harder to mount than some other tires. So that's kind of a double whammy.
topflightpro is offline  
Old 12-17-18, 09:26 AM
  #5662  
furiousferret 
Senior Member
 
furiousferret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Redlands, CA
Posts: 5,822
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 631 Post(s)
Liked 46 Times in 26 Posts
Originally Posted by mattm View Post
Is it A Thing that "tubeless ready" rims are SUPER f-ing hard to mount non-tubeless tires on to?

I got some DT Switss P1600's for training wheels - they're "tubeless ready" but I just want to run them with gp4000s & tubes.

I gave up after five minutes of struggling to get the tire on.. I could maybe get it done, but really wondering if I want to repeat that struggle on the side of the road. Much less on the side of the road in the rain..

Perusing the user manual, it says to use "soap & water" to mount the tires... wtf.

Maybe it's just these wheels, maybe the tire, maybe it's just me, dunno.

Anyway anyone have experience with these? Or mounting regular tires on "tubeless ready" rims in general?
I broke two tire levers and bent a butter knife getting mine on....
furiousferret is offline  
Old 12-17-18, 10:43 AM
  #5663  
mattm
**** that
 
mattm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CALI
Posts: 15,363
Mentioned: 147 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1070 Post(s)
Liked 21 Times in 6 Posts
Originally Posted by topflightpro View Post
Yes, tubeless rims are harder to get tires on. And Contis tend to be harder to mount than some other tires. So that's kind of a double whammy.
Originally Posted by furiousferret View Post
I broke two tire levers and bent a butter knife getting mine on....
Ok so it's not just me.. time to sell these things and get some wheels I can deal with!

thx
__________________
cat 1.

my race videos
mattm is offline  
Old 12-17-18, 12:16 PM
  #5664  
MDcatV
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6,840
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by caloso View Post
This might sound like a dumb question, but this is the place, amirite?

I'm going to ask Santa for a new trainer and have been looking at the new smart trainers. Looks like most of them require external power to run the smart aspects, but can I use it to warm up for a race without plugging it in?
I already had these: Inside Ride E-Motion Rollers. I got the smart trainer resistance controller. It replaces the magnetic resistance controller and requires plug in, so you either have the magnetic "non-smart" resistance control that doesnt require plug in, or you have the "smart" electronic resistance control that requires plug in, but you could use these without resistance for warmups at races ... although carrying rollers in the car takes up a lot of space.
MDcatV is offline  
Old 12-17-18, 12:39 PM
  #5665  
burnthesheep
Newbie racer
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 887

Bikes: Propel, red is faster

Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 399 Post(s)
Liked 67 Times in 44 Posts
Opinions on an affordable and reasonably “quick” tubular for time trial training?

I would prefer not train on a $130 tire but also not train on an absolute “dog” of a tire.

For a 21mm brake track (external measurement) disc wheel. Yes, train on the disc. Gotta learn to stay in the power in conditions.

Same for a front 19mm tire for a tri-spoke.

Tufo?
burnthesheep is online now  
Old 12-17-18, 12:48 PM
  #5666  
topflightpro
Senior Member
 
topflightpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,274
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1232 Post(s)
Liked 21 Times in 15 Posts
Sprinters are pretty good. I've raced and trained on them. They're not too pricey either.

I may have a couple extras I could let go at a reasonable price. PM me if you're interested.
topflightpro is offline  
Old 12-17-18, 02:11 PM
  #5667  
TMonk
Not actually Tmonk
 
TMonk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 11,084

Bikes: road, track, mtb

Mentioned: 119 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 905 Post(s)
Liked 82 Times in 39 Posts
@mattm I also have some tubeless ready Spinergy's that are absolutely awful to get tires on and off. Fortunately they're just trainer and wheelpit/follow car wheels
__________________
"Your beauty is an aeroplane;
so high, my heart cannot bear the strain." -A.C. Jobim, Triste
TMonk is offline  
Old 12-17-18, 06:14 PM
  #5668  
Ygduf
¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Ygduf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Redwood City, CA
Posts: 10,976

Bikes: aggressive agreement is what I ride.

Mentioned: 108 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 967 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Originally Posted by mattm View Post
Bro. Rollers.
you ever ride a tt bike in the sticks on rollers?

me either!
Ygduf is offline  
Old 12-17-18, 06:18 PM
  #5669  
spdntrxi
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: East Bay Area ,CA
Posts: 1,553

Bikes: Parlee,BMC,Specialized and Trek

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by furiousferret View Post
I broke two tire levers and bent a butter knife getting mine on....
yes I've broken 4 tire irons... (enve + schwalbe(pro-one))

HED+Schwalbe (g-speed) I can do by hand.

I won't even use latex tubes on "tubeless ready" rims anymore... ruined too many tubes.
spdntrxi is offline  
Old 12-17-18, 10:15 PM
  #5670  
Ttoc6
Cat 3
 
Ttoc6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: UT
Posts: 1,449

Bikes: CAAD 10 / CAAD X / Scalpel

Mentioned: 88 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 566 Post(s)
Liked 55 Times in 26 Posts
Originally Posted by burnthesheep View Post
Opinions on an affordable and reasonably “quick” tubular for time trial training?

I would prefer not train on a $130 tire but also not train on an absolute “dog” of a tire.

For a 21mm brake track (external measurement) disc wheel. Yes, train on the disc. Gotta learn to stay in the power in conditions.

Same for a front 19mm tire for a tri-spoke.

Tufo?
Gonna be a pain in the butt to keep two sets of tires around if you're gonna train and race on tubulars and want to have nicer and not nicer tires. Just being honest, but it's gonna not be a fun time. In your shoes I'd just train on alloy clinchers and switch to the nice wheels with nice tires for the couple of days before race day for shake outs and the actual race.

Key with the front will be finding a source for a narrow enough tire for racing that is still good on the rolling front. If you can find the conti gp supersonic in a narrow enough width, it'll be your best bet... good luck.. Once you get a tire wider than the rim, you're really sacrificing your gains aerodynamically. I pretty much only race my nice tires for my tt rig (supersonic on the front tri spoke, vittoria corsa speed on the disc). I'm too afraid to flat on em because they're expensive, nice and hard to find. I do take em out for a couple of dry runs before race day though to get the feel back. Other than that my tt bike just sits on the trainer.
Ttoc6 is offline  
Old 12-17-18, 10:18 PM
  #5671  
Ttoc6
Cat 3
 
Ttoc6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: UT
Posts: 1,449

Bikes: CAAD 10 / CAAD X / Scalpel

Mentioned: 88 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 566 Post(s)
Liked 55 Times in 26 Posts
Originally Posted by mattm View Post
Is it A Thing that "tubeless ready" rims are SUPER f-ing hard to mount non-tubeless tires on to?

I got some DT Switss P1600's for training wheels - they're "tubeless ready" but I just want to run them with gp4000s & tubes.

I gave up after five minutes of struggling to get the tire on.. I could maybe get it done, but really wondering if I want to repeat that struggle on the side of the road. Much less on the side of the road in the rain..

Perusing the user manual, it says to use "soap & water" to mount the tires... wtf.

Maybe it's just these wheels, maybe the tire, maybe it's just me, dunno.

Anyway anyone have experience with these? Or mounting regular tires on "tubeless ready" rims in general?
Yes. It's hard, but they're easier to get off than on. Especially once you've warmed em up riding. Conti's are notoriously hard to mount cold, let alone on a tubeless rim. Soap and water does help to get tubeless tires seated, but I've never had to use it to mount clinchers. A bead jack is the farthest I've gone and that was with wide tubeless tires on a decently narrow tubeless rim.
Ttoc6 is offline  
Old 12-18-18, 07:00 AM
  #5672  
burnthesheep
Newbie racer
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 887

Bikes: Propel, red is faster

Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 399 Post(s)
Liked 67 Times in 44 Posts
Originally Posted by Ttoc6 View Post
Gonna be a pain in the butt to keep two sets of tires around if you're gonna train and race on tubulars and want to have nicer and not nicer tires. Just being honest, but it's gonna not be a fun time. In your shoes I'd just train on alloy clinchers and switch to the nice wheels with nice tires for the couple of days before race day for shake outs and the actual race.

Key with the front will be finding a source for a narrow enough tire for racing that is still good on the rolling front. If you can find the conti gp supersonic in a narrow enough width, it'll be your best bet... good luck.. Once you get a tire wider than the rim, you're really sacrificing your gains aerodynamically. I pretty much only race my nice tires for my tt rig (supersonic on the front tri spoke, vittoria corsa speed on the disc). I'm too afraid to flat on em because they're expensive, nice and hard to find. I do take em out for a couple of dry runs before race day though to get the feel back. Other than that my tt bike just sits on the trainer.
I'd just ride the disc/trispoke in shorter and fast training rides to get the hang of it. But, that'd still be enough mileage to warrant not toasting some 100 mile TT tires. I'd only probably swap the tires twice per year. Coordinate it well enough I'm not swapping tires all the time.

Otherwise, for rides longer than a 10 mile training ride I can swap over my 50mm roadie clincher wheelset. It's an older Giant SLR wheelset that still rolls nice.

I wouldn't roll the tubulars on rides longer than 10 miles, for risking a flat. I know people carry a pre-glued spare tire, or a patch kit, but whatever.
burnthesheep is online now  
Old 12-18-18, 09:08 AM
  #5673  
MDcatV
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6,840
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Ygduf View Post
you ever ride a tt bike in the sticks on rollers?

me either!
i have. but on the e-motion ones, which aren't as penal as other more typical/standard rollers.
MDcatV is offline  
Old 12-18-18, 09:15 AM
  #5674  
rubiksoval
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Music City, USA
Posts: 2,910

Bikes: Felt AR

Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1691 Post(s)
Liked 70 Times in 42 Posts
Originally Posted by burnthesheep View Post
I'd just ride the disc/trispoke in shorter and fast training rides to get the hang of it. But, that'd still be enough mileage to warrant not toasting some 100 mile TT tires. I'd only probably swap the tires twice per year. Coordinate it well enough I'm not swapping tires all the time.

Otherwise, for rides longer than a 10 mile training ride I can swap over my 50mm roadie clincher wheelset. It's an older Giant SLR wheelset that still rolls nice.

I wouldn't roll the tubulars on rides longer than 10 miles, for risking a flat. I know people carry a pre-glued spare tire, or a patch kit, but whatever.
To do a glue job well enough that it won't give you horrendous CRR is going to take a day or two plus. Very unpractical and rife with potential issues.
rubiksoval is offline  
Old 12-18-18, 09:26 AM
  #5675  
burnthesheep
Newbie racer
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 887

Bikes: Propel, red is faster

Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 399 Post(s)
Liked 67 Times in 44 Posts
Originally Posted by rubiksoval View Post
To do a glue job well enough that it won't give you horrendous CRR is going to take a day or two plus. Very unpractical and rife with potential issues.
Yes, I’ve seen 3 days rim prep and another day after that for applying the tire and having it rest. As per google search anyway and Park Tool demo.

That is fine with me. I have the Crockett and Propel I can ride. It’s Crockett season right now.
burnthesheep is online now  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.