Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

Question re: rear derailleur on flatbar road bikes

Search
Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-20, 12:43 PM
Ramshackle

Bikes: Litespeed Adecco, Specialized Roubaix SL4

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked 23 Times in 13 Posts

Yeah, I know I should use a dropbar on my Domane 4.3. I tried it many times but just don’t have the same brake control (small hands) and stability. With people wearing earbuds, other bikes and cars to navigate, I need the best brake control and stability I can get. BTW, I’m not a newbie biker.

My question for flatbar road bikers.... I’m currently using Shimano Tiagra 4600 flatbar shifters. The crank is a Shimano 105 and the biggest rear cassette is 34t. The front derailleur shifts fine, but the rear is fidgety. I’ve tried a Tiagra 4601 rear derailleur, a Shimano 105 5701 rear derailleur, and a Microshift R10. I used it with and without the Road Link hanger extender. I’m not 100% satisfied with any of the rear derailleurs–seems to work fine then sometimes hiccups under load. What shifters and rear derailleurs are you using on your road bikes? Have you gone to MTB shifters and derailleurs?
Old 03-16-20, 01:16 PM
badger1

Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Quoted: 1581 Post(s)
Liked 1,189 Times in 605 Posts
Older bike: SRAM Apex front/rear derailleurs, crank (48/32), and cassette (PG1090)/chain. Shifters: 10spd SRAM flat-bar DoubleTap. Going on 10 years; it all works flawlessly.

Newer bike: SRAM NX shifter/rear derailleur; SunRace cassette (11-42); generic stock 1x crank, 42 tooth. No issues; works flawlessly.
Old 03-16-20, 08:47 PM
Maelochs