Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

How to tell if cycling shorts are too big (or too small)?

Search
Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Search this Thread

Old 08-27-19, 01:32 AM
Boldchris

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

Salutations!

I am rather new to cycling and I recently bought two sets of cycling clothes. One medium one large. I'm 5'8 and 190lb

They make a night and day difference! How do I know if one is too large or too small though? The large one feels a bit more loose but doesn't sag. The jersey is too big for the large though (some flapping on the rib cage when riding)

Am I over thinking this? Any input on proper cycling shorts fit would be greatly appreciated.

I use the medium and save the large as a back up.

Last edited by Boldchris; 08-27-19 at 02:03 AM.
Old 08-27-19, 04:47 AM
CycleryNorth81

Bikes: custom Cyclery North (Chicago), Schwinn Circuit

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Quoted: 350 Post(s)
Liked 203 Times in 118 Posts
Try the small shorts first. If you can't fit or squeeze into the small, move onto the next size up until it fits.
This applies to the jerseys too.
Old 08-27-19, 06:20 AM
Flip Flop Rider

Bikes: 2010 Fuji Absolute 3.0 1994 Trek 850

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 762 Post(s)
Liked 555 Times in 322 Posts
might wear 2 different sizes top and bottom. I can wear medium shirt, large pants
Old 08-27-19, 06:28 AM
jgwilliams

Bikes: Dolan Tuono 105 Di2, custom built 653 and 531 bikes with frames by Barry Witcomb, Sonder Dial XT mountain bike and a Brompton folding bike.

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Quoted: 298 Post(s)
Liked 141 Times in 100 Posts