Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Mountain Biking
Reload this Page >

Raleigh Talus 5.0 vs HardRock Sport Disc

Search
Notices
Mountain Biking Mountain biking is one of the fastest growing sports in the world. Check out this forum to discuss the latest tips, tricks, gear and equipment in the world of mountain biking.

Search this Thread

Old 04-07-10, 09:47 PM
acjrocks

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I'm looking to get my first real bike. I've been using walmart/academy bikes most of my life but I want to take it to the next level. I've done some research and I've narrowed it down to the following 2 bikes. Given the choice, which is the better option? Since i'm new to real components, I have no idea which one has the better components.

What do you guys think?

Raleigh Talus 5.0 (click to view details)

Specialized Hardrock Sport Disc (click here to view details)

I've read good things on the Hardrock Sport Disc on these forums but haven't heard much about the Talus 5.0. In fact, nothing at all, which maybe should be telling me something.

There is a big jump from the Hardrock Sport (440) to the Hardrock Sport Disc (550). Is that $110 difference worth it with the included disc brakes, or am I better served going with just the Hardrock Sport and spending those 110 on upgrading to some better brakes that are better than the Hardrock Sport Disc.

And finally, I haven't 100% ruled out going with the basic Specialized Rockhopper, which is 610. I have a feeling it's better than both the above bikes, but is it so much better that I should spring for that over the above 2 bikes?

In case it matters, I'm 5 9, 210lbs, and 28. No clue what level my local trails are rated at.

Thanks in advance! Looking forward to spend some money on some good stuff!
Old 04-08-10, 12:56 AM
RatedZ

Mentioned: Post(s)
Tagged: Thread(s)
Quoted: Post(s)
Originally Posted by acjrocks