Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Fifty Plus (50+)
Reload this Page >

Rode my age and then some!

Search
Notices
Fifty Plus (50+) Share the victories, challenges, successes and special concerns of bicyclists 50 and older. Especially useful for those entering or reentering bicycling.

Search this Thread

Old 10-20-09, 01:45 PM
rayman54

Bikes: 2014 Cervelo S3 Ultegra 2012 TREK Superfly 29'r FS 2012 Cervelo S5 Rival w/FLO 60's - 07 TREK Pilot 2.1 triple

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked 63 Times in 10 Posts

This is my 1st post. 55 YO male, I started riding just about a year ago. I'm primarily a distance runner, but started riding to support my wife's riding. Purchased a Trek Pilot 2.1 ( Ultegra and 105 mix). I turned 55 in August and did my 1st metric century with my son that month.

I've been focusing more on the running lately due to several races. I ran the Army 10 miler in DC. Finished 5th in my AG at 64:28. With that done I decided to refocus efforts on completing an actual century. I had not ridden for 3 weeks due to the training, tapering, and racing at Army. The guys here at work with whom I do weekly group rides were preparing to do an unsupported century (last Saturday). Since I had done almost no biking in the 3 weeks mentioned, I decided to do a 55 miler last Wednesday to see if the century was at all possible. The route I chose is hilly ( at least for me), 3,300 elevation gain in the 55 miles. I was surprised to finish the ride easily at just about 18.5mph average.