Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Commuting
Reload this Page >

Toe Clips - Why?

Notices
Commuting Bicycle commuting is easier than you think, before you know it, you'll be hooked. Learn the tips, hints, equipment, safety requirements for safely riding your bike to work.

Toe Clips - Why?

Old 09-23-04, 03:03 PM
westman2003

Bikes: Norco MTB

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Toe Clips - Why?

I've been communting to work for about 3 months now. Round trip of 26km. Being new what is the advantage of toe clips? Also, are there models or types I can remove quickly in case of a crash or when I need to stop in traffic?

Greg
Old 09-23-04, 03:07 PM
jayroc
dirty ol' man

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I ran with toe clips for about 2-3 years when I was younger, and the only advantages is price and to a lesser extent, convienence. They can be enlarged to fit your winter boots when you ride to work in winter. I would still go with clipless pedals anyday though!
Old 09-23-04, 03:10 PM
westman2003

Bikes: Norco MTB

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hey Jayroc

Thanks for the reply.

I see you are from Calgary, me too.

I live in Hidden Valley (just north of Nose Hill Park and across Country Hills Blvd) and commute to SAIT.

How about you?
Old 09-23-04, 03:14 PM
caloso

Bikes: Specialized Tarmac, Canyon Exceed, Specialized Transition, Ellsworth Roots, Ridley Excalibur

Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Quoted: 2952 Post(s)
Liked 3,106 Times in 1,417 Posts
Originally Posted by westman2003
I've been communting to work for about 3 months now. Round trip of 26km. Being new what is the advantage of toe clips? Also, are there models or types I can remove quickly in case of a crash or when I need to stop in traffic?

Greg
I ride with clipless pedals myself and haven't used toeclips in quite some time. I've heard some folks have had good luck with power grips: