Search
Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Would you?

Search this Thread

Old 04-28-20, 12:22 AM
RocHed11

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked 25 Times in 8 Posts
Would you?

As I noted in some other posts, I'm fairly new to back to biking-Jan 2020, I ride a trek DS2 stock Hybrid, Up in my attic I have a 1975 Raleigh Gran Prix that hasn't been ridden nor serviced for 25+ years, Saddle is pretty much deteriorated, I sure the brake pads have weathered beyond use. The tires were still hard until I realized the rubber was practically petrified. Anyone think it is salvageable for a reasonable cost? Thanks in advance!!

T
Old 04-28-20, 12:31 AM
Kovkov

Bikes: 1957 Alpa Special, 1963 Condor Delta, 1967 Tigra Sprint, 1977 Oltenia, 1987 Mondia, 1965 Staco de luxe, 1969 Amberg

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked 76 Times in 43 Posts
As long as the frame is ok it‘s salvagable and will pretty
sure outlast that other bike you have.

In the classic and vintage forum you‘ll get all the info you need.
Likes For Kovkov:
Old 04-28-20, 06:22 AM
Moe Zhoost
Half way there

Bikes: Many, and the list changes frequently

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Quoted: 986 Post(s)
Liked 880 Times in 527 Posts
I have a number of bikes that old or older and some are ridden regularly. It's really up to you to decide on the Gran Prix. Parts won't set you back much, but if you pay somebody for labor it could get pricey. You'll need new tires, brake pads, and cables plus new saddle and bar wrap, maybe. It will be a bit of work to disassemble, clean, and re-lubricate. If you have a bike co-op in your area, you will have an excellent resource for parts, tools, and advice.