Search
Notices
Long Distance Competition/Ultracycling, Randonneuring and Endurance Cycling Do you enjoy centuries, double centuries, brevets, randonnees, and 24-hour time trials? Share ride reports, and exchange training, equipment, and nutrition information specific to long distance cycling. This isn't for tours, this is for endurance events cycling

Training goals for the off-season

Search this Thread

Old 10-06-10, 12:15 PM
bobbycorno

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Training goals for the off-season

My 2010 rando season is now offically over, and it's been a year to forget. 2 months off in the middle of the season with Achilles tendinits will do that... I did, however, finish a hilly (7300') 200k this past saturday with absolutely zero Achilles trouble. My slowest 200 EVER, but it was a good end for the season, considering.

Looking forward to 2011 and PBP (I hope), I started playing with the perfomance calculators at bikecalculator dot com. According to their speed-to-watts calculator, I typically cruise at about 150 watts and climb at 175. If I can bump that to 185 and drop 10 lb, their watts-to-speed calculator says I'd save 4 minutes (!) on a 5-mile, 5% climb. FOUR MINUTES! WIthout changing anything else. That'd add up to quite a bit over a hilly 1200 (like, say, PBP...)

So, the $64,000 question is: would dropping 10 lb and adding 10 watts be a reasonable training goal for this winter? Or would I have to live like a monk and train like a madman? And does anybody have suggestions for a training program to increase my crusing and climbing power output?

Geez... Training for rando... I never thought I'd come to this.

SP
Bend, OR
Old 10-06-10, 01:08 PM
Carbonfiberboy 
just another gosling

Bikes: CoMo Speedster 2003, Trek 5200, CAAD 9, Fred 2004

Mentioned: 115 Post(s)
Quoted: 3890 Post(s)
Liked 1,939 Times in 1,384 Posts
Friel's book, of course. Not as bible, but for ideas.