Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

Replenishing Lost Sealant

Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Old 01-16-20, 11:03 AM
Robert A

Bikes: 2019 CAAD12, 2015 Specialized Sirrus Comp

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 559 Post(s)
Liked 63 Times in 45 Posts

I'm new to tubeless tires, and last night while inserting, then removing an inner tube for practice at home, I lost a considerable amount of sealant. When I reinflated the tire without the inner tube, it sealed up fine and held air. Before taking the bike out on the road, do I need to replenish the lost sealant?
Old 01-16-20, 11:36 AM
WhyFi

Bikes: R3 Disc, Haanjo

Mentioned: 354 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20801 Post(s)
Liked 9,448 Times in 4,666 Posts
Originally Posted by Robert A
... while inserting, then removing an inner tube for practice...
Wh... why?

I lost a considerable amount of sealant. .... do I need to replenish the lost sealant?
"Considerable"? Yes, of course you need to replace it.
Likes For WhyFi:
Old 01-16-20, 11:58 AM
Robert A

Originally Posted by WhyFi
Wh... why?
Three weeks ago, I flatted with tubeless and couldn't insert an inner tube to get me home. I wanted to make sure that wouldn't happen again.
Likes For Robert A:
Old 01-16-20, 11:58 AM
Elvo

Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Quoted: 630 Post(s)
Liked 369 Times in 206 Posts
Yes
Old 01-16-20, 12:45 PM
WhyFi

Three weeks ago, I flatted with tubeless and couldn't insert an inner tube to get me home. I wanted to make sure that wouldn't happen again.
Oh, you're that guy.