Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Classic & Vintage
Reload this Page >

How to tighten a vintage French headset?

Search
Notices
Classic & Vintage This forum is to discuss the many aspects of classic and vintage bicycles, including musclebikes, lightweights, middleweights, hi-wheelers, bone-shakers, safety bikes and much more.

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-19, 01:35 PM
2WheelWilly

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hi Folks,

I'm a complete novice when it comes to bicycle mechanics, so I was hoping there'd be someone here with the knowledge to help me with a question I have. I inherited an old French bike (1970s Motobecane Grand Record) from a parent, which I use to go touring now and again. (Only major modification I've had done is replacing the old brake system.) Recently my headset has gotten loose, so I feel jiggling when I ride, especially when I brake going downhill. The headset mechanics look unorthodox, however (photo attached--hmmm, unfortunately I'm not of sufficient status to be allowed to post photos or urls), and I've had trouble attempting to tighten the headset. Is there some kind of special tool I need to do this? It seems almost like it needs a pin spanner (or something like that) but with the pins oriented another 90 degrees inward from where they would normally be on a pin spanner.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated! Thanks lots.
Old 07-29-19, 01:37 PM
2WheelWilly

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
If you want an image, if you type bit.ly into your url field, followed by /32XNXJf (no spaces) you should be able to access the picture.
Old 07-29-19, 01:47 PM
madpogue 

Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Quoted: 2363 Post(s)
Liked 1,749 Times in 1,191 Posts
Pic assist: