Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Fifty Plus (50+)
Reload this Page >

Running Strava and Wahoo Fitness simultaneously on Android phone?

Notices
Fifty Plus (50+) Share the victories, challenges, successes and special concerns of bicyclists 50 and older. Especially useful for those entering or reentering bicycling.

Running Strava and Wahoo Fitness simultaneously on Android phone?

Old 01-19-15, 07:17 PM
  #1  
Bikey Mikey
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Bikey Mikey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Newport News, VA USA
Posts: 3,325

Bikes: Diamondback Edgewood LX; Giant Defy 1

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Running Strava and Wahoo Fitness simultaneously on Android phone?

Has anyone run two tracking apps on their smartphone simultaneously (e.g., Strava and Wahoo Fitness)? I'm not concerned about battery time as my phone has a high capacity one. My curiosity is about the two apps connecting to the same Bluetooth sensors, HRM and cadence(The Wahoo app would also use the rear speed sensor.).
Bikey Mikey is offline  
Old 01-20-15, 03:02 PM
  #2  
John_V 
Senior Member
 
John_V's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 5,586

Bikes: 2017 Colnago C-RS, 2012 Colnago Ace, 2010 Giant Cypress hybrid

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 406 Post(s)
Liked 120 Times in 84 Posts
I have been running an app called CharityMiles simultaneously with Cyclemeter on my iPhone 5c. Today's ride was 41 miles and I had 73% battery life left at the end of the ride. Total time of the ride, including stopped time, was 3:15:12. However, CharityMiles only uses the GPS and does not pair with any sensors.
__________________
HCFR Cycling Team
Ride Safe ... Ride Hard ... Ride Daily

2017 Colnago C-RS
2012 Colnago Ace
2010 Giant Cypress
John_V is offline  
Old 01-20-15, 03:38 PM
  #3  
spdracr39
Senior Member
 
spdracr39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Cabot, Arkansas
Posts: 1,538

Bikes: Lynskey Twisted Helix Di2 Ti, 1987 Orbea steel single speed/fixie, Orbea Avant M30, Trek Fuel EX9.8 29, Trek Madone 5 series, Specialized Epic Carbon Comp 29er, Trek 7.1F

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Don't know about Android but on IOS you can run all the apps you want but only one can pair with a sensor.
spdracr39 is offline  
Old 01-20-15, 05:27 PM
  #4  
Bikey Mikey
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Bikey Mikey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Newport News, VA USA
Posts: 3,325

Bikes: Diamondback Edgewood LX; Giant Defy 1

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Yeah, I think that is true as well on my Android...only one will pair.
Bikey Mikey is offline  
Old 01-20-15, 08:20 PM
  #5  
BigAura
 
BigAura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Chapin, SC
Posts: 3,423

Bikes: all steel stable: surly world troller, paris sport fixed, fuji ss

Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 621 Post(s)
Liked 46 Times in 29 Posts
AFAIK a sensor can only connect to one app at a time.
BigAura is offline  
Old 01-21-15, 01:53 PM
  #6  
Bikey Mikey
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Bikey Mikey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Newport News, VA USA
Posts: 3,325

Bikes: Diamondback Edgewood LX; Giant Defy 1

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Originally Posted by BigAura View Post
AFAIK a sensor can only connect to one app at a time.
I think this as well. Just wanted to confirm my thinking.
Bikey Mikey is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
dynawolf
Electronics, Lighting, & Gadgets
12
12-21-19 09:54 AM
Calla lily
Electronics, Lighting, & Gadgets
3
01-07-16 04:39 PM
stockae92
Road Cycling
3
08-10-15 11:44 AM
nemeseri
Electronics, Lighting, & Gadgets
9
02-07-15 02:53 PM
Bikey Mikey
Electronics, Lighting, & Gadgets
0
01-19-15 07:16 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.