Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Folding Bikes
Reload this Page >

Tern Verge x18 Owner. Thinking of swapping for Birdy.. opinions?

Search
Notices
Folding Bikes Discuss the unique features and issues of folding bikes. Also a great place to learn what folding bike will work best for your needs.

Search this Thread

Old 05-02-17, 01:25 PM
whollyjordan

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hello!

I recently purchased a Tern Verge x18 to use recreationally (fun/fitness/escape) and I love it.

However, the roads around where I live are pretty rough. Shocking, frankly.. pretty beat up in places.

So the ride on my x18 is often rough to suit.

It does not soak up the bumps..

This got me thinking about the Birdy bike, with its suspension magic going on.

I'm seriously tempted to grab one.

Any one know how it'll compare to mine, not just in soaking up the bumps.. but also the speed and handling etc?

I'm pretty new to this world, so I don't have much experience to draw on.

Cheers!
Old 05-02-17, 02:36 PM
Silverexpress

Bikes: Commuter(s), MTB(s), bent(s), folder(s) and a road.

Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Have you considered the Moulton?

www.tinyurl.com/mwx7cmw
Old 05-02-17, 03:00 PM
ThorUSA
Banned

Bikes: to many

Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
put fat tires on it ?
I suggest to really try any other bike first ... Moulton is nice, a little heavy I think
Old 05-02-17, 03:01 PM
invisiblehand
Part-time epistemologist

Bikes: Jamis Nova, Bike Friday triplet, Bike Friday NWT, STRIDA, Austro Daimler Vent Noir, Hollands Tourer

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
I've ridden Birdy bikes and the suspension is a plus. But I'd certainly test ride one before swapping bikes. Even before that, I'd look at the tires on your Tern and test whether an upgrade to wider supple tires would do the trick.
Old 05-02-17, 05:18 PM
whollyjordan