Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Touring
Reload this Page >

If you tour(ed) on a hybrid please read this

Search
Notices
Touring Have a dream to ride a bike across your state, across the country, or around the world? Self-contained or fully supported? Trade ideas, adventures, and more in our bicycle touring forum.

Search this Thread

Old 08-02-05, 09:03 AM
gpljr75
GPL

Bikes: Trek Multitrack 700

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I'm somewhat new to touring and I've been "making do" with my Trek Multitrack 700 hybrid. I'm aware that the pros will tell you that a hybrid is not ideal for touring, but hey, part of the fun for me has been doing it with what I've got. Anyway, I'd be interested in hearing about other people's successes and failures, joys and frustrations of using a hybrid for touring. Would love to see photos of your hybrid packed out. I've attached a photo of mine on a recent three-day trip from Carol Stream, IL to Lake Geneva, WI to Union, IL and back to Carol Stream. (If I could figure out how to have it appear in the message, I would.)

Currently my friend and I are getting ready for a 6 day tour through Michigan's UP. Can't wait.

Thanks,
GPL
Old 08-02-05, 09:23 AM
Juha
Formerly Known as Newbie

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked 4 Times in 3 Posts
I've toured with hybrids only, exactly for the same reason. That's what I've got. Latest tour was 600 kms a month ago, with a a kayak trailer. Newish saddle and an unavoidable schedule problem in the first half of the trip where the biggest worries. And despite of those it turned out to be a very nice tour.

For a pic of the bike/trailer combination, see this post. On tour I had two rear panniers and a handlebar bag on the bike (not shown here).

--J

Who is this General Failure anyway, and why is he reading my drive?

Become a Registered Member in Bike Forums
Community guidelines
Old 08-02-05, 09:49 AM
gpljr75
GPL

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts