Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Metal shavings during / after headset installation

Search
Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-21, 04:15 PM
thundercleese
fareless square

Bikes: crabon

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Let me start by saying I'm an experienced home mechanic, have done about a dozen headset installations in the past. Ran into something new last week that freaked me out: metal shavings that squeezed out as the cups seated.

The bike is a brand new frame, retro steel randonneur with 1" head tube, reputable brand manufactured in Taiwan. Working with the Park HHP-3 headset press, installing a 1" FSA Duron X headset (aluminum external cups), also new, with both surfaces thoroughly lubed with Park Polylube. Each cup went on a little crooked but straightened themselves out eventually, nothing out of the ordinary. Was a little tougher than normal getting the cups to go in, but I continued (foolishly?). When the cups seated, out came a couple long, thin scraped-off bits of metal. The largest grabbed a small bit of the head tube paint and lifted it up, which made my stomach sink, ughh.

Checked to see if the metal bits were magnetic and, thankfully, they seemed to be aluminum from the cups, not steel. That gave me the slightest bit of relief.

I put the frame aside and got back to it today. I removed the headset cups and inspected. No damage or marring inside the head tube, thankfully, but the aluminum cups seem to have been lightly scraped by the head tube. One cup had a bunch of shavings jammed around the 90 degree angle where the frame seats; I gently removed these with a utility knife and cleaned up all surfaces in anticipation of re-installing.