Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

Caliper vs disc brakes on road bike?

Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Old 11-20-19, 05:07 PM
AWillZ

Bikes: Ridley Damocles, Dura Ace 7800

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Getting ready to replace my 2009 Ridley Damocles - I am sticking with Ridley as the Damo that I have been riding / racing for 10 years has been fantastic. Probably going to a Fenix SL. I had no intention of going with disc brakes but a couple of my riding partners think I should.

I understand the difference but the extra cost / weight doesn't justify the benefit (to me). I will outfit with HED Ardennes Black wheels (no pads on carbon tracks)

why pay more and add 1/2 pound to wheel weight??
Old 11-20-19, 05:30 PM
bobwysiwyg

Bikes: Mongoose Selous, Trek DS

Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Quoted: 941 Post(s)
Liked 319 Times in 189 Posts
Sounds like you've made your decision. Are you looking for affirmation or to be talked out of it?
Likes For bobwysiwyg:
Old 11-20-19, 05:35 PM
caloso

Bikes: Specialized Tarmac, Canyon Exceed, Specialized Transition, Ellsworth Roots, Ridley Excalibur

Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Quoted: 2952 Post(s)
Liked 3,106 Times in 1,417 Posts
Heavier, uglier, more expensive, less aero, more finicky to adjust, and don't stop your bike any faster. You can see why everyone's jumping on the disc bandwagon. /eyeroll
Likes For caloso:
Old 11-20-19, 05:53 PM
shelbyfv
Expired Member

Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Quoted: 3629 Post(s)
Liked 5,297 Times in 2,690 Posts
Now we're rolling
Likes For shelbyfv:
Old 11-20-19, 06:37 PM
AWillZ

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts