Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

Need Metric Century Training Advise

Search
Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Search this Thread

Old 11-02-15, 11:48 AM
Bassmanbob

Bikes: 2014 Cannondale Supersix EVO 3, 2015 Trek 520, 2017 Bike Friday Pocket Rocket, 2022 Moots Vamoots Disc RSL

Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 285 Post(s)
Liked 267 Times in 140 Posts

I've been training for a metric century for the last six months. My strategy has been to increase my weekend ride about 10% every two weeks. The ride is in three weeks on November 22. During the week, I ride about 15-18 miles with hills on Tuesday nights and about 11- 18 miles on Thursdays. In October, my long weekend rides have been 53, 57, 57, 40 (bad day for me and with 30+ MPH cross wind) and 60 mile rides. My plan was to ride 60 miles again this Saturday and then a shorter ride (about 40 miles) the week before the metric century. My problem is that I won't have the time to ride the planned 60 mile repeat this weekend. I may be able to ride 30-35 miles Friday night, but that's it for this weekend.

Do you think I'll be OK for the MC in three weeks, with two relatively shorter rides this weekend and next weekend? How would you handle this differently?
Old 11-02-15, 11:50 AM
datlas 
Should Be More Popular

Bikes: 1986 Alpine (steel road bike), 2009 Ti Habenero, 2013 Specialized Roubaix

Mentioned: 560 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22597 Post(s)
Liked 8,925 Times in 4,158 Posts
You will probably do fine. The main difference you will need to plan for is nutrition, both calories AND hydration.
Old 11-02-15, 11:52 AM