Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Training & Nutrition
Reload this Page >

ARTICLE: Why some amateur athletes are giving up on smartwatches

Search
Notices
Training & Nutrition Learn how to develop a training schedule that's good for you. What should you eat and drink on your ride? Learn everything you need to know about training and nutrition here.

Search this Thread

Old 01-01-24, 11:24 PM
john m flores 
Rider. Wanderer. Creator.

Bikes: Bike Friday Pocket Rocket, Cinelli Hobootleg, Zizzo Liberte

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 394 Post(s)
Liked 781 Times in 377 Posts

This article focuses on running, but I wonder if similar trends are happening in cycling?

https://theconversation.com/why-some...watches-216979

I was an early adopter of HRMs and Strava. I never got a power meter, But I started riding with just an Avocet so I think I learned how to listen to my body early.

I use monitoring tech less these days because I am no longer training for anything, just riding for enjoyment.
Old 01-01-24, 11:54 PM
base2 
I am potato.

Bikes: Only precision built, custom high performance elitist machines of the highest caliber. 🍆

Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Quoted: 1789 Post(s)
Liked 1,630 Times in 934 Posts
I don't disagree with anything in the article. My smartwatch is a time piece and is only useful for keeping track of my resting heart rate to inform my cycling.

My Garmin cycling computer is only useful to keep an eye on current wattage/cadence to keep my mental assessment and physical performance corolated. It is also useful for mileage/timing estimates of the current ride for planning purposes. (2 hours to sundown, for example, has implications on how much time/miles left there are to ride and when/where to turn back.) Also, the Garmin functions as an odometer for my various bikes when uploaded to Strava/Connect/wherever. My best rides are generally with the screen off in power save mode.