Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Framebuilders
Reload this Page >

OT - Oxygen concentrators in ambulances?

Search
Notices
Framebuilders Thinking about a custom frame? Lugged vs Fillet Brazed. Different Frame materials? Newvex or Pacenti Lugs? why get a custom Road, Mountain, or Track Frame? Got a question about framebuilding? Lets discuss framebuilding at it's finest.

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-21, 07:04 AM
smontanaro 

Bikes: many

Mentioned: 63 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1442 Post(s)
Liked 1,388 Times in 758 Posts

I know this isn't the right place to ask this, but I don't subscribe to any place which might be better. Mods, feel free to delete.

I keep hearing that there's an oxygen shortage for ambulances, particularly in Southern California. Could oxygen concentrators be pressed into service? It wouldn't surprise me if ambulances had inverters to provide the necessary AC power.

I've never used one before, and the only time I was in an ambulance I was in no condition to admire its amenities. Perhaps there are some framebuilding EMTs who can comment.
Old 01-10-21, 12:45 PM
duanedr 

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked 144 Times in 88 Posts
I haven't ever thought about it before but if someone had asked, I would think ambulances would have Oxygen concentrators built into them....
Old 01-10-21, 12:53 PM
unterhausen
Randomhead

Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked 3,687 Times in 2,510 Posts
In normal times, it's far simpler just to swap tanks

I think the issue is they don't like backpressure. Not sure how much crews would appreciate the alarms going off. Probably practical issues related to free o2 in small spaces.
Likes For unterhausen:
Old 01-10-21, 01:37 PM
smontanaro 

Bikes: many

Mentioned: 63 Post(s)
Quoted: 1442 Post(s)
Liked 1,388 Times in 758 Posts