Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

Did I pay WAY too much for my bike?

Search
Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Search this Thread

Old 03-09-20, 11:17 PM
Tommyray

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I'm new to cycling and just bought my first bike yesterday. I knew going in to the shop that bikes are not cheap. I also know I could have found cheaper on Facebook market place/Craigslist. But I wanted to have a warranty and figured a shop to be more trust worthy. I was looking for road bikes and they all were $300+. I purchased a Ross Gran Tour for $399 plus tax... There was only one other road bike cheaper than that for $349 and it wasn't in as good condition as the Ross, which basically looks brand new. There was also a Schwinn for $399 that I took for a test ride but the Ross was the best fit. It wasn't till I got home and googled Ross bikes and found that they are know as being a department store bike?? But I did read that they made a few good quality bikes. Is the Gran Tour one of them? I'm really happy with the bike but it was a bold purchase that I was only able to buy because of tax return. Did I get screwed?
Old 03-10-20, 12:40 AM
Unca_Sam
The dropped

Bikes: Pake C'Mute Touring/Commuter Build, 1989 Kona Cinder Cone, 1995 Trek 5200, 1973 Raleigh Super Course FG, 1960/61 Montgomery Ward Hawthorne "thrift" 3 speed, by Hercules (sold) : 1966 Schwinn Deluxe Racer (sold)

Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Quoted: 1739 Post(s)
Liked 1,014 Times in 696 Posts