Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Clydesdales/Athenas (200+ lb / 91+ kg)
Reload this Page >

How many miles did you ride when first starting?

Notices
Clydesdales/Athenas (200+ lb / 91+ kg) Looking to lose that spare tire? Ideal weight 200+? Frustrated being a large cyclist in a sport geared for the ultra-light? Learn about the bikes and parts that can take the abuse of a heavier cyclist, how to keep your body going while losing the weight, and get support from others who've been successful.

Old 07-20-17, 08:23 AM
kaybe

Bikes: Trek Verve 2

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I am mostly curious about this because I see people talking about 25-50 mile rides and was wondering how long it took to get there and where you started. I started riding this week after 6 months of extreme inactivity (4 months of chemo and 2 months of recovery). I am up there at 330ish LBS as the only person in the world who seems to have gained a bunch of weight on chemo. I'm at 3 miles round trip and am wondering how low that is compared the other 'super clydes' out there.

I will not let this effect my confidence or attitude or anything - mostly just satisfying curiosity. I expect to be on the lower range of starting out as I'm out of shape, still recovering from treatment, and competing with 85+ degree weather. I also kinda wanted to strike up a conversation and get myself a little bit involved in something. My personality keeps me more interested and determined when I have more than one attachment to a hobby.

So lets hear it. Mileage-wise: Where did you start and where are you at today?
Old 07-20-17, 08:31 AM
10 Wheels
Galveston County Texas

Bikes: 02 GTO, 2011 Magnum

Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Quoted: 1346 Post(s)
Liked 1,236 Times in 617 Posts
Hooked up with a group of high mileage riders at the beginning when I was a young 66 y/o.

First year 11,200 miles
Second year 15,923 miles had a Goal of 20,000 miles.