Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Framebuilders
Reload this Page >

A few questions about Fillet Brazing

Search
Notices
Framebuilders Thinking about a custom frame? Lugged vs Fillet Brazed. Different Frame materials? Newvex or Pacenti Lugs? why get a custom Road, Mountain, or Track Frame? Got a question about framebuilding? Lets discuss framebuilding at it's finest.

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-13, 03:00 PM
TickTockToe

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I want to construct a steel road bike frame in the future, and I want to braze it. I have no experience with brazing, but I have time, patience, and some money to spend. I plan on fillet brazing my frame for two reasons: it just looks sexy, and it seems easier and cheaper to practice than lugged brazing. Not that it is easier to do than lugged brazing, just easier to practice since one doesn't have to buy a bunch of practice lugs and stick to certain geometries.

Anyways, I plan on buying some steel tubing and some brass filler rod, and start mitering tubes and brazing them into fun and interesting geometrical shapes. My questions for you gentlemen (and women) follow thusly:

In regards to the tubing:
I plan on getting a variety of diameters of steel tubing. Is there a right or wrong kind of steel tubing? What is a good wall thickness to approximate a bike tube? Basically, what should I be looking for when i go to the metal shop to purchase practice tubing?

In regards to the filler metal:
I looked around and couldn't find any SPECIFIC recommendations for filler metal. What exactly should I look for in brass filler? Any good brands, or does it even matter? I know the filler is made for specific applications, and I don't want to waste a lot of money on something that I don't need. I hope wherever I purchase the stuff there will be a knowledgeable salesman, but I would like to have a grasp on what I need before I get to that point.