Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Commuting
Reload this Page >

Newbie here looking for some advice

Search
Notices
Commuting Bicycle commuting is easier than you think, before you know it, you'll be hooked. Learn the tips, hints, equipment, safety requirements for safely riding your bike to work.

Search this Thread

Old 05-13-09, 09:33 AM
atx33

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hello everyone, I have been reading this forum for a couple days and everyone seems nice and knowledgeable so I wanted to seek some input since I am brand new to biking. I really appreciate any help.

Well here is a little bit about me and my situation. I am in Austin, TX so the weather here is not too bad usually. I am looking for a bike to be used for shorter road commute trips (probably nothing more then 20 miles), rides just for exercise, and also a little trail riding (nothing too hard core). Austin is a little hilly so I need a bike that can deal with that. I am a taller guy at 6"2' and I weigh around 225. Price range is flexible if need be but I really don’t want to spend more then $500-$600 for my first real bike. I’m also a guy always looking for the best bang for his buck.

Well I stopped by a LBS the other day and asked the guy a bunch of questions about bikes. According to him and some research, a commuter/hybrid would work best for me. The 3 brands this store carried were Jamis, Bianchi and Scott except he didn’t even really mention Bianchi as an option to me. He was very high on the Scott Sportster P55 ($550) https://scottusa.com/gb_en/product/24.../sportster_p55 , said it was one of their best selling bikes. The other bike he showed me was the Jamis Coda ($550) https://www.jamisbikes.com/usa/thebik...a/09_coda.html , which is steel frame and from what I read on here is better then aluminum. They also had a 2008 Jamis Coda https://www.jamisbikes.com/usa/archiv...a_archive.html on sale for $380 which is very tempting.