Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Electronics, Lighting, & Gadgets
Reload this Page >

Help needed to choose a GPS computer for a very specific feature

Search
Notices
Electronics, Lighting, & Gadgets HRM, GPS, MP3, HID. Whether it's got an acronym or not, here's where you'll find discussions on all sorts of tools, toys and gadgets.

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-20, 04:49 AM
rebayona

Bikes: Maria Casquitos: 15" MTB 26" frame+ 8spd Alivio 2007 groupset. 48TT CR. Celestina: 16" MTB tandem frame with Shimano Alivio 2014 groupset, 48TT CR. Greta: tailored steel road frame (Duarte) with Sora 9spd groupset, Mavic Kysrium SL SSC WS 50-34/28-11

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked 8 Times in 6 Posts

I've been using bicycles to commute for the last 26 years, using standard wired computers like Avocet, Cateye and my current one it's a Sigma, which it's getting close to 100K km today. I also use Strava on a daily basis. Now I'm building a road bicycle to ride GFs so I guess it's time to get a serious computer with GPS and HRM.

What do I look on a bicycle computer? What do I need it for?
Mainly for Data. Non negotiables are:
- route data. I don't really care for navigation (turn left/right) but would really love to have information regarding my actual route: "you're 5km to summit and current slope is 7%". That's what I really want to know.
Strava connection. Live segments would be nice, but as a nice to have.
Also HRM, cadence and altitude are a must have, but I guess all of them have them so my choice will go for the one who solves my "5km to summit" need.
I don't really mind if screen has color, touchscreen or its size. I'm looking for something on the $100-$150 (just the unit) range.
I've been researching a lot and have this (not so) shortlist:

-Bryton 420.