Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

Road Bike vs Mountain Bike (Speed, gear ratios, frame weight, etc).

Search
Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Search this Thread

Old 04-04-20, 01:58 PM
BicycleFun436

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

I have been riding a mountain bicycle for eight years, but have never ridden a road bicycle before. As of recently, I have found out that there are many different types of bicycles, but in particular, I'm focusing on the differences between a road bicycle and a mountain bicycle (and might be planning on getting a road bicycle soon). How are road bicycles and mountain bicycles similar—or different—in terms of speed, gear ratios, frame weight, etc?
Old 04-04-20, 02:10 PM
Kapusta
Advanced Slacker

Bikes: Soma Fog Cutter, Surly Wednesday, Canfielld Tilt

Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Quoted: 2762 Post(s)
Liked 2,537 Times in 1,433 Posts
Did you try Googling “road bike vs mountain bike difference”?

Is there something more specific you want to know?
Likes For Kapusta:
Old 04-04-20, 02:27 PM
Paul Barnard
For The Fun of It

Bikes: Lynskey GR300, Lynskey Backroad, Litespeed T6, Lynskey MT29, Burley Duet

Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Quoted: 2135 Post(s)
Liked 1,647 Times in 829 Posts
What kind of mountain bike do you have?
Old 04-04-20, 02:40 PM
MRT2

Bikes: 2012 Salsa Casseroll, 2009 Kona Blast

Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Quoted: 1031 Post(s)
Liked 208 Times in 146 Posts
Originally Posted by BicycleFun436