Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Singlespeed & Fixed Gear
Reload this Page >

Hello from a New Guy.

Search
Notices
Singlespeed & Fixed Gear "I still feel that variable gears are only for people over forty-five. Isn't it better to triumph by the strength of your muscles than by the artifice of a derailer? We are getting soft...As for me, give me a fixed gear!"-- Henri Desgrange (31 January 1865 - 16 August 1940)

Hello from a New Guy.

Search this Thread

Old 10-17-14, 02:23 PM
darkarcher

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hello from a New Guy.

Hi everyone, new member here from Cincinnati. I have been messing with bikes for about 10 years now. I have built 2 from the ground up and upgraded a couple others. My current stable includes 2 mountain bikes and a Road bike:

Giant Defy

Voodoo Sobo 26"

Cannondale Flash 29er Carbon

I have decided my next project needs to be a single speed. I have researched fixed gear vs single speed. Right now I am leaning towards single speed but I will probably buy/build a bike that can do both just so I can say I tried it. Statistically I doubt many folks on the SSFG forum live in Cincinnati because I really do need every last gear on my Road bike to get around here. I even had to upgrade from a 12-25 to an 11-28 in the rear just to make it up some of the hills here. That being said I am up for the challenge and I think a low gear inch SS with coasting ability is probably what will end up working best for me.

Having read the "post your bike megathread" cover to cover three times, my eyes have taken a liking to the following frames:

Wabi Lightning SE

Cinelli gazzetta

Fuji Feather

Bianchi Pista

and a few others.