Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Shifter cables for Shimano ST-EF29-7

Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Old 11-16-20, 08:55 PM
prdevoe

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Sorry - newbie here. I'm trying to replace the front and rear derailleur cables in my Shimano ST-EF-29-7 shifters on a 2003 Giant BoulderSE mountain bike I picked up from Goodwill for recreational riding. I've not been able to determine what Shimano cable is compatible with this old ST-EF29 shifter. The information I pulled from the Shimano website for the shifter doesn't indicate the cable diameter or the size of the cable head. I also don't know what type of cable (stainless, galvanized, coated) would be best to use. I think the cable housings are probably ok, but it looked like the cable and the housings all came together as a kit so buying a kit might be my only option. Could someone advise me on the correct cable to buy? Any help would be appreciated.
Old 11-16-20, 10:01 PM
sch

Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Quoted: 303 Post(s)
Liked 136 Times in 104 Posts
Cable is standard generic shifter cable, of which 98% are the same diameter. Stainless is the best choice as it is
not much more expensive than galvanized and coated cables tend to lose their coatings over time. Since there
have been some advances in housing/cables since 2003 a housing change is a good idea as well. A 17 yr old
housing is likely rusted internally. I would also change the brake pads and strongly consider brake cable and housing
change as well. Brake cables do come in two variants, one with a flat disc on the end (ATB) and the other with
a cylinder transversely molded for road bikes. Should be easy to remove the cable and see which you have.