Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

If a pedestrian runs out in front of you from across the street.....

Search
Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Search this Thread

Old 08-12-10, 07:49 AM
buttdart

Bikes: trek 4500

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

....and you hit them - who's at fault?

i'm new to road riding and last night i was riding along the beach with friends which is a very popular spot for cyclists around here. i was going around 22-23mph as i approached a beach cross walk. there is a yield sign sign for cars and a few people were waiting on north bound traffic to pass.

as i was a few feet from the cross walk the last car passed and a 6 year old girl darted out from the east side of the street and nearly ran RIGHT in front of me as . i yelled 'watch out!' and scared the heck out of her but did miss her.

i'm extremely cautious of these types of situations and my surroundings. i guess my assumption is that i couldn't believe she would just dart across the street in front of me. then again - this is the general public we're dealing with. where were the parents?

regardless, i'm glad nothing happened but i was also a bit upset at the whole situation as i rode off.

insight?
Old 08-12-10, 07:52 AM
Homebrew01
Super Moderator

Bikes: Old Steelies I made, Old Cannondales

Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Quoted: 1174 Post(s)
Liked 935 Times in 618 Posts
Originally Posted by buttdart
....and you hit them - who's at fault?