Forum Suggestions & User Assistance Have a suggestion for the forums? Need help with the Forums? Post here.

Upload limit?

Old 05-15-19, 06:54 AM
  #1  
madpogue 
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Madison, WI USA
Posts: 2,987
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 699 Post(s)
Liked 86 Times in 66 Posts
Upload limit?

I just picked up premium membership, and I thought that meant I could create my own photo albums and upload photos to them. But when uploading even one photo, I get "Warning: You have reached your upload limit". What's going on?
madpogue is offline  
Old 05-15-19, 07:34 AM
  #2  
rumrunn6
Senior Member
 
rumrunn6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 25 miles northwest of Boston
Posts: 22,971

Bikes: Bottecchia Sprint, GT Timberline 29r

Mentioned: 89 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3081 Post(s)
Liked 140 Times in 112 Posts
I get that too when I try to create a new album & I have a free membership. maybe it's just a bug with "albums"? I just upload pics into threads & they show up in my singular album
rumrunn6 is offline  
Old 05-15-19, 07:38 AM
  #3  
madpogue 
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Madison, WI USA
Posts: 2,987
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 699 Post(s)
Liked 86 Times in 66 Posts
Yeah, AFAIK uploading to posts works fine. I wanted to create a stand-alone album; I thought that's what premium membership buys.

Oh, and the odd thing - it acts as if it's uploading the first photo, presenting a "progress" bar, and takes 10-15 seconds. It's only at the end of that process that I get the message.

Last edited by madpogue; 05-15-19 at 07:41 AM.
madpogue is offline  
Old 05-15-19, 12:37 PM
  #4  
madpogue 
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Madison, WI USA
Posts: 2,987
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 699 Post(s)
Liked 86 Times in 66 Posts
testing
madpogue is offline  
Old 05-15-19, 02:10 PM
  #5  
madpogue 
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Madison, WI USA
Posts: 2,987
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 699 Post(s)
Liked 86 Times in 66 Posts
Confirmed - attaching to posts works fine. But creating and populating new albums is a fail.

Do any admins/mods read these threads? @IBRyan ?
madpogue is offline  
Old 05-15-19, 02:59 PM
  #6  
IBRyan
Retired -- Do not PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked 17 Times in 14 Posts
Originally Posted by madpogue View Post
Confirmed - attaching to posts works fine. But creating and populating new albums is a fail.

Do any admins/mods read these threads? @IBRyan ?
Yes, I do. I am currently looking into what the issue can be. Can you please explain one more time what exactly is happening?
IBRyan is offline  
Old 05-15-19, 03:41 PM
  #7  
CliffordK
Senior Member
 
CliffordK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Posts: 22,545
Mentioned: 172 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8741 Post(s)
Liked 107 Times in 95 Posts
I just created a new album, and uploaded. No issues.



I've been doing uploads manually to the album for a while. I tried using the picture upload icon, and got a message "Please Enter URL", rather than taking me to the album.

PleaseEnterURL.jpg

Hmmm...

The old upload method with attachments still works, using the paper clip

I do try to target somewhere between around 50 kb and 200 kb for my image sizes. I could imagine the system having headaches with super HUGE images.
CliffordK is offline  
Old 05-15-19, 05:32 PM
  #8  
madpogue 
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Madison, WI USA
Posts: 2,987
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 699 Post(s)
Liked 86 Times in 66 Posts
Originally Posted by IBRyan View Post
Yes, I do. I am currently looking into what the issue can be. Can you please explain one more time what exactly is happening?
This:

Background is of course very dim, but you can JUUST see that I tried creating a new album called "Test", then uploading a file from my local machine, aprx. 30K. The progress bar indicates it's uploading, then at the end, the above pops up.

Last edited by madpogue; 05-15-19 at 05:36 PM.
madpogue is offline  
Old 05-15-19, 05:34 PM
  #9  
IBRyan
Retired -- Do not PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked 17 Times in 14 Posts
@madpogue okay and what version of the site, browser and device are you on? I will raise this issue to tech.
IBRyan is offline  
Old 05-15-19, 05:43 PM
  #10  
madpogue 
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Madison, WI USA
Posts: 2,987
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 699 Post(s)
Liked 86 Times in 66 Posts
"Device" is any of three computers I've tried. Two are Windows 10 and one is Windows 7. They're all running Firefox, different versions from ESR 52.9 to 60-something.

Site version is.... errr.... same as everybody else is using, I guess. I don't see anything on the home page that indicates a version. I'm using the "BikeforumsNG" style. I tried the Default Style, same result.
madpogue is offline  
Old 05-15-19, 07:15 PM
  #11  
madpogue 
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Madison, WI USA
Posts: 2,987
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 699 Post(s)
Liked 86 Times in 66 Posts
Update - tried Opera 42, same result.
madpogue is offline  
Old 05-15-19, 07:26 PM
  #12  
CliffordK
Senior Member
 
CliffordK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Posts: 22,545
Mentioned: 172 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8741 Post(s)
Liked 107 Times in 95 Posts
Whew, you have a lot of photos. 200+?

https://www.bikeforums.net/g/user/9425

Is is an issue with: https://cimg0.ibsrv.net?

Last edited by CliffordK; 05-15-19 at 07:32 PM.
CliffordK is offline  
Old 05-15-19, 08:31 PM
  #13  
madpogue 
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Madison, WI USA
Posts: 2,987
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 699 Post(s)
Liked 86 Times in 66 Posts
^^^^ They're all post photos. A lot of them are duplicates. I often post pics from earlier posts to new posts, when they're relevant. When I do, I always post an "img" link to the original photo, but evidently the forum software sees fit to store a new copy in my "Post pictures" album as a duplicate.

If there were a "where used" feature, that told you what post(s) a particular pic is associated with, it would help.

Edit - there are some that have more duplicates than can be accounted for by reference posting / re-posting. I just found one with four copies, all uploaded within 2-3 minutes of each other. I most definitely did not post that many messages with the same photo that many times that quickly.

I wonder if at some point, the forum software would re-upload an inline pic every time you preview a post, or edit an existing one. I preview at least 99% of my posts, esp. those with inline images, and sometimes multiple times before hitting the final post button. If the software is clogging up my "Post pictures" album with dupes any time I do that, it would definitely explain the number. Again - if I knew that was it, and knew which pics were actually associated with real posts and which were "orphans", I could probably clean up a fair amount. Of course, the software shouldn't require such exercises, but I digress......

Edit 2 -- I'm pretty sure the forum was saving duplicates of pics in some cases, when I would either preview or edit a post with pics. I slogged through them and found several with up to four copies of the same pic, but only one associated with a post. I figured it out based on matching the uuid file name of the pic in the album with the pic in the post. It was a mind-numbing slog, but I deleted well over 50 such pics, that had been "stranded" by that process but still counting as pics in my gallery. So I'm down to about 150, but I'm still getting the "Upload Limit" message.

Last edited by madpogue; 05-15-19 at 10:56 PM.
madpogue is offline  
Old 05-17-19, 09:40 AM
  #14  
IBRyan
Retired -- Do not PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked 17 Times in 14 Posts
@madpogue looking into this. Please give me a moment to investigate.
IBRyan is offline  
Old 05-31-19, 12:36 PM
  #15  
madpogue 
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Madison, WI USA
Posts: 2,987
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 699 Post(s)
Liked 86 Times in 66 Posts
@IBRyan, any update?
madpogue is offline  
Old 05-31-19, 01:10 PM
  #16  
IBRyan
Retired -- Do not PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked 17 Times in 14 Posts
Still looking in @madpogue sorry it is taking some time. Thank you for your patience.
IBRyan is offline  
Old 07-02-19, 11:03 AM
  #17  
madpogue 
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Madison, WI USA
Posts: 2,987
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 699 Post(s)
Liked 86 Times in 66 Posts
Monthly check on updates to this issue.

I can still insert as many pics as I want into posts, but the gallery/album function still doesn't allow my to create new albums, or upload directly to albums.
madpogue is offline  
Old 07-03-19, 09:18 AM
  #18  
IBJoel
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Originally Posted by madpogue View Post
Monthly check on updates to this issue.

I can still insert as many pics as I want into posts, but the gallery/album function still doesn't allow my to create new albums, or upload directly to albums.
I'm working with tech on this, currently.
__________________
Bikes are expensive. I run.
IBJoel is offline  
Old 08-10-19, 01:50 PM
  #19  
CliffordK
Senior Member
 
CliffordK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Posts: 22,545
Mentioned: 172 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8741 Post(s)
Liked 107 Times in 95 Posts
Hmmm...

I just ran into that myself.

Same popup as above... "you have reached your upload limit".

I haven't been buying or selling on the forum. I don't believe I have any duplicates. At least not with the albums.

I resize my photos. A bit more lax now, so some around 200 KB.

The old "attachments" may have some duplicates, but not too many.
CliffordK is offline  
Old 08-12-19, 11:26 AM
  #20  
IBanna
Administrator
 
IBanna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked 8 Times in 5 Posts
Hi CliffordK,

I tried recreating your issue by uploading an album but I am not getting the message you are getting.
What link, device are you using?
Could you show a step by step of your process?
IBanna is offline  
Old 08-13-19, 03:20 AM
  #21  
Rollfast
What happened?
 
Rollfast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Around here somewhere
Posts: 7,587

Bikes: 3 Rollfasts, 3 Schwinns, a Shelby and a Higgins Flightliner in a pear tree!

Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1579 Post(s)
Liked 80 Times in 74 Posts
Reduce the size of your images to something below 1200x?

Cellphones take obscenely large pictures by default and that adds up to huge filesizes.

I'm guessing that what vB doesn't like is huge filesizes and you can cut that resolution down quite a bit (a serious bit).
__________________

Marcia Brady rode a ROLLFAST!
Rollfast is offline  
Old 08-13-19, 03:28 AM
  #22  
Rollfast
What happened?
 
Rollfast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Around here somewhere
Posts: 7,587

Bikes: 3 Rollfasts, 3 Schwinns, a Shelby and a Higgins Flightliner in a pear tree!

Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1579 Post(s)
Liked 80 Times in 74 Posts


Also try to post JPEGs or filetypes with lower filesizes. Anything larger than that is overkill for this platform,.
__________________

Marcia Brady rode a ROLLFAST!

Last edited by Rollfast; 08-13-19 at 03:31 AM.
Rollfast is offline  
Old 08-13-19, 09:58 PM
  #23  
madpogue 
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Madison, WI USA
Posts: 2,987
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 699 Post(s)
Liked 86 Times in 66 Posts
How much "below 1200"? I shoot mostly 3/2 aspect ratio, so 1200x800 is what I usually resize to when posting online.

Edit - just resized a photo to 1080x668 and tried to upload. Same message. Just tried resizing to 600x371 and uploading. Same message.

Cellphone? My cell phone has buttons, and makes and receives phone calls. Crazy, eh? I haul things with a truck, commute and get exercise with a bicycle, take photographs with a camera, type on a computer, and talk on a telephone. Each thing excels at what it does, and is useless at any of the other things.

Last edited by madpogue; 08-13-19 at 10:18 PM.
madpogue is offline  
Old 08-13-19, 10:58 PM
  #24  
CliffordK
Senior Member
 
CliffordK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Posts: 22,545
Mentioned: 172 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8741 Post(s)
Liked 107 Times in 95 Posts
My cell phone shoots at 16 megapixels with 10x optical zoom.

I routinely crop and shrink before uploading. The target is 100 to 200 KB or so. The old restriction of 100 KB was a bit rough.
Originally Posted by IBanna View Post
Hi CliffordK,

I tried recreating your issue by uploading an album but I am not getting the message you are getting.
What link, device are you using?
Could you show a step by step of your process?
Steps:
Open my "Gallery" page:
https://www.bikeforums.net/g/user/392454

Select a subfolder. Most of my photos have been going into "Misc".
https://www.bikeforums.net/g/album/13031659

Click on "Edit Album"
Drag & Drop, and I get the error. Also using the "Upload" button.

I tried creating a new folder, and it seemed to take it, then nothing.

So, I selected one photo to delete.

And it allowed me to create the new album and upload one photo.

Ok, so let me try a second photo under Misc2.

NOPE.

"You have reached your upload limit".

Delete my "new photo", and...

drag and drop works.

CliffordK is offline  
Old 08-13-19, 11:26 PM
  #25  
CliffordK
Senior Member
 
CliffordK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Posts: 22,545
Mentioned: 172 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8741 Post(s)
Liked 107 Times in 95 Posts
Ok, with the new album I just created, I have:
https://www.bikeforums.net/g/user/392454

11 albums (10 albums earlier when I first got the error):

1 photo: Misc2
2 photos: Four Wheels
1 photo: Box
5 photos: Albany Bike Show
5 photos: SteyrMassifCargoBike
22 photos: Misc
3 photos: Statistics
11 photos: Snowpocalypse
3 photos: Beckman
7 photos: SR Semi-Pro Aero
40 photos: My Post Pictures

Total: Exactly 100 photos, I think.



Probably not an accident that I have exactly 100 photos.

Now, let me look at @madpogue's albums:
https://www.bikeforums.net/g/user/9425

He has 2 current albums:
1 photo: Lotus
149 photos: My Post Pictures



So, @madpogue has exactly 150 photos.

Man, I feel left out. He apparently locked his uploads with 50% more photos than I have.

@rumrunn6 has one album
https://www.bikeforums.net/g/user/134410

1900 photos: 4/28/18 thru ...

WOW

@Rollfast also has one album.
https://www.bikeforums.net/g/user/88857

201 photos: My Post Pictures
CliffordK is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.