Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Hybrid Bicycles
Reload this Page >

2016 Giant ToughRoad SLR2

Notices
Hybrid Bicycles Where else would you go to discuss these fun, versatile bikes?

2016 Giant ToughRoad SLR2

Old 03-04-18, 10:11 AM
  #476  
HerrKaLeun
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,421

Bikes: Giant Toughroad SLR1 and Motobecane Sturgis NX

Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 685 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 32 Times in 28 Posts
so wait, you guys are saying the 11-speed cassette would work with the SLR 1/2 hubs? this is what i thought and hoped, but if possible please try and let us know.
HerrKaLeun is offline  
Old 03-04-18, 10:21 AM
  #477  
badger1
Senior Member
 
badger1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southwestern Ontario
Posts: 4,071
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1011 Post(s)
Liked 60 Times in 39 Posts
Originally Posted by HerrKaLeun View Post
so wait, you guys are saying the 11-speed cassette would work with the SLR 1/2 hubs? this is what i thought and hoped, but if possible please try and let us know.
Yes. Shimano mtb and road are different in that respect. Any Shimano/compatible mtb hub that takes Shimano 9/10spd will accept an 11spd Shimano/compatible mtb cassette. Example: I have a pair of older (circa 2007) Shimano XT disc wheels, currently with 9spd cassette. I could go straight to current Shimano 11spd if I wanted to. There are no spacing or chainline issues.

On road hubs that is not true. Shimano/SRAM 11spd cassettes will not work with older generation Shimano/compatible 8/9/10spd road hubs.
badger1 is offline  
Old 03-04-18, 10:36 AM
  #478  
HerrKaLeun
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,421

Bikes: Giant Toughroad SLR1 and Motobecane Sturgis NX

Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 685 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 32 Times in 28 Posts
Originally Posted by badger1 View Post
Yes. Shimano mtb and road are different in that respect. Any Shimano/compatible mtb hub that takes Shimano 9/10spd will accept an 11spd Shimano/compatible mtb cassette. Example: I have a pair of older (circa 2007) Shimano XT disc wheels, currently with 9spd cassette. I could go straight to current Shimano 11spd if I wanted to. There are no spacing or chainline issues.

On road hubs that is not true. Shimano/SRAM 11spd cassettes will not work with older generation Shimano/compatible 8/9/10spd road hubs.
what you say is exactly what I thought the way it is. I just got a bit confused by some of these posts as they sounded (to me) only the 11-speed hub can take 11-speed.
(i only have hybrid and fatbike and never will have road bike group stuff... so these bodies are confusing me all the time with their statements :-)
HerrKaLeun is offline  
Old 03-04-18, 11:05 AM
  #479  
Carl J
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 53

Bikes: 2016 Kona Wo (Fat), 2016 Felt V85 (Gravel), 2017 Spherik SRU (Aero), 2017 Giant ToughRoad SLR 2 (Retired)

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 15 Times in 8 Posts
Originally Posted by badger1 View Post
Yes. Shimano mtb and road are different in that respect. Any Shimano/compatible mtb hub that takes Shimano 9/10spd will accept an 11spd Shimano/compatible mtb cassette. Example: I have a pair of older (circa 2007) Shimano XT disc wheels, currently with 9spd cassette. I could go straight to current Shimano 11spd if I wanted to. There are no spacing or chainline issues.

On road hubs that is not true. Shimano/SRAM 11spd cassettes will not work with older generation Shimano/compatible 8/9/10spd road hubs.
This is what confused me. I knew (or was sure that I knew) that for road bikes, you'd need an 11 speed compatible wheel/hub. But when it came to MTBs, I've read mixed things. Even asked one of the guys at the LBS before I bought the new wheels, if this was the case with MTB/my bike, and he said he wasn't sure (he'd have to see my current wheel).

I'm sure that the new wheels are a lot better than what came with the bike, just don't think that the difference would be worth the cost (for this bike and the riding I do on it).

Just waiting for all of my parts to come in and will be taking it to the shop sometime this week. Will post whether or not I had to change them.

Thanks everyone, for the help
Carl J is offline  
Old 03-04-18, 12:32 PM
  #480  
travbikeman
Senior Member
 
travbikeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Inwood WV, but maybe moving closer to the C&O areas
Posts: 1,269

Bikes: 2015 Specialized Crosstrail Sport Disc, Prior bikes owned: 1995 Trek 830, 1988 Schwinn Prelude

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 276 Post(s)
Liked 13 Times in 11 Posts
Heh, that confused me too. Didn't realize that you could put 11 speed shimano on some of the hubs. Also didn't realize that SRAM wasn't compatible with Shimano hubs. Thanks for the info today everyone!

Love it when I learn something new!
travbikeman is offline  
Old 03-04-18, 12:58 PM
  #481  
badger1
Senior Member
 
badger1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southwestern Ontario
Posts: 4,071
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1011 Post(s)
Liked 60 Times in 39 Posts
It is confusing! Sticking with mtb, here's a summary:

1. Any hub that will accept 9 or 10spd Shimano cassette will accept an 11spd Shimano cassette, or similar. There is also one (1) SRAM 11 spd cassette that I know of that will fit: PG 1130. Putting it another way, 11spd cassettes with 11-tooth small cogs. And unlike with the road hubs, there are no spacing issues.

2. The other SRAM 11 and 12spd cassettes require the dedicated SRAM XD driver body on the rear hub. I think this is because of that 10-tooth small cog on these cassettes. Whatever the reason, they do require that driver body (or presumably a clone thereof).
badger1 is offline  
Old 03-09-18, 01:37 PM
  #482  
humansoul
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hi everyone, new member here on BF.

I am in the market for a hybrid and my search has led me to this post, which I've read from page 1 to 20. I currently own a '14 Giant Anyroad CoMax that I enjoy as my roadie/gravel bike, but I've been looking far and wide to replace my '09 Giant Rincon 26er that I've converted to a hybrid to trail my 4 yr old and also plan to now install a mini bike seat for my newborn and use it when she's a bit older.

My dilemma is similar to what others have posted, which one to buy - 2017 SLR 1 or 2. I found a LBS that has the SLR 2 for $900 CDN, while the SLR 1 I found through another bike store out of province, where I'll have to pay for it to be shipped totalling $1300 CDN + getting it installed unless I do it myself. It seems the consensus here is the SLR 2 good enough as is and minor upgrades may be worthwhile? I was even trying to see if my carbon seat post from the Anyroad bike would fit to save on weight. My means for this bike is to trail kids, go for some longer rides than my 26er in the trails and overall exercise. Is there anyone on here that bought the SLR 2 and regret it wishing they upped for the SLR 1? If so, why? I do like the groupset and better brakes on the SLR 1, but I don't think it's worth the $400 upgrade price?

Btw...thanks for all the informative posts from all the users. The forum is great and the pics of some of the TR I've seen really make me want to pull the trigger asap!
humansoul is offline  
Old 03-11-18, 06:41 PM
  #483  
Carl J
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 53

Bikes: 2016 Kona Wo (Fat), 2016 Felt V85 (Gravel), 2017 Spherik SRU (Aero), 2017 Giant ToughRoad SLR 2 (Retired)

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 15 Times in 8 Posts
I can't sneak for the SLR 1, but can say that I love the SLR 2. Like many people in here, I've upgraded the saddle (Brooks B17) and tires (Specialized Sawtooth), although, didn't have any issues with the stock tires (and use them in the winter).
Unfortunately, after a couple of winter rides, my chain and cassette rusted out, so just replaced everything with the XT 1x11.
$900 seems a bit much for last year's model though. I paid just a bit more (Canadian) for mine last summer.

Originally Posted by humansoul View Post
Hi everyone, new member here on BF.

I am in the market for a hybrid and my search has led me to this post, which I've read from page 1 to 20. I currently own a '14 Giant Anyroad CoMax that I enjoy as my roadie/gravel bike, but I've been looking far and wide to replace my '09 Giant Rincon 26er that I've converted to a hybrid to trail my 4 yr old and also plan to now install a mini bike seat for my newborn and use it when she's a bit older.

My dilemma is similar to what others have posted, which one to buy - 2017 SLR 1 or 2. I found a LBS that has the SLR 2 for $900 CDN, while the SLR 1 I found through another bike store out of province, where I'll have to pay for it to be shipped totalling $1300 CDN + getting it installed unless I do it myself. It seems the consensus here is the SLR 2 good enough as is and minor upgrades may be worthwhile? I was even trying to see if my carbon seat post from the Anyroad bike would fit to save on weight. My means for this bike is to trail kids, go for some longer rides than my 26er in the trails and overall exercise. Is there anyone on here that bought the SLR 2 and regret it wishing they upped for the SLR 1? If so, why? I do like the groupset and better brakes on the SLR 1, but I don't think it's worth the $400 upgrade price?

Btw...thanks for all the informative posts from all the users. The forum is great and the pics of some of the TR I've seen really make me want to pull the trigger asap!
Carl J is offline  
Old 03-11-18, 06:57 PM
  #484  
Henny
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 19

Bikes: 2016 Giant Toughroad SLR1

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Originally Posted by Carl J View Post
I can't sneak for the SLR 1, but can say that I love the SLR 2. Like many people in here, I've upgraded the saddle (Brooks B17) and tires (Specialized Sawtooth), although, didn't have any issues with the stock tires (and use them in the winter).
Unfortunately, after a couple of winter rides, my chain and cassette rusted out, so just replaced everything with the XT 1x11.
$900 seems a bit much for last year's model though. I paid just a bit more (Canadian) for mine last summer.
Chain and cassette rusted out after a couple winter rides?

Iíve been riding my SLR1 all year including in the snow. Iíve replaced chains (third chain in 6800 miles) but my cassette is still fine. The chain replacement was just regular wear and tear.

What happened? Low quality parts? Lack of maintenance?
Henny is offline  
Old 03-11-18, 07:11 PM
  #485  
HerrKaLeun
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,421

Bikes: Giant Toughroad SLR1 and Motobecane Sturgis NX

Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 685 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 32 Times in 28 Posts
Originally Posted by Henny View Post
Chain and cassette rusted out after a couple winter rides?

I’ve been riding my SLR1 all year including in the snow. I’ve replaced chains (third chain in 6800 miles) but my cassette is still fine. The chain replacement was just regular wear and tear.

What happened? Low quality parts? Lack of maintenance?
Some lube every now and then doesn't hurt. But you also can replace drive trains instead of lubing...

Like i needed to buy a new car because the yellow fuel light came on.
HerrKaLeun is offline  
Old 03-11-18, 07:18 PM
  #486  
Henny
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 19

Bikes: 2016 Giant Toughroad SLR1

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Originally Posted by HerrKaLeun View Post
Some lube every now and then doesn't hurt. But you also can replace drive trains instead of lubing...

Like i needed to buy a new car because the yellow fuel light came on.
Henny is offline  
Old 03-12-18, 11:16 AM
  #487  
humansoul
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Carl J View Post
I can't sneak for the SLR 1, but can say that I love the SLR 2. Like many people in here, I've upgraded the saddle (Brooks B17) and tires (Specialized Sawtooth), although, didn't have any issues with the stock tires (and use them in the winter).
Unfortunately, after a couple of winter rides, my chain and cassette rusted out, so just replaced everything with the XT 1x11.
$900 seems a bit much for last year's model though. I paid just a bit more (Canadian) for mine last summer.
Thanks for the feedback. I ended up grabbing the SLR 2 from a LBS near me since it was the last one in my size. The LBS gave me a good deal on it and I figured it would suffice, parts-wise, as to what my plans were.
humansoul is offline  
Old 03-15-18, 06:29 PM
  #488  
MeatzSweatz
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hi Guys

I just recently got the 2018 toughroad SLR 0 and wanting to change the tires from the stock. Currently its got a 50-622 tire on there. So just wondering if a 29x2.2 will be able to fit on there?
MeatzSweatz is offline  
Old 03-16-18, 01:58 PM
  #489  
prj71
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 1,647
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 909 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 9 Times in 9 Posts
The ToughRoad is a 29er. Any 29 tire up to about 2.4 should fit.
prj71 is offline  
Old 03-18-18, 06:38 PM
  #490  
Carl J
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 53

Bikes: 2016 Kona Wo (Fat), 2016 Felt V85 (Gravel), 2017 Spherik SRU (Aero), 2017 Giant ToughRoad SLR 2 (Retired)

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 15 Times in 8 Posts
Originally Posted by HerrKaLeun View Post
Some lube every now and then doesn't hurt. But you also can replace drive trains instead of lubing...

Like i needed to buy a new car because the yellow fuel light came on.


After literally, a couple of rides, mostly on the road and paved paths, I didn't think I would of had to maintain it. I under estimated winter riding (and the salt on the roads) I guess. Lesson learned, hopefully.

But so far, so good on the new upgrades. Just did a 75Km road/gravel ride today (and a 50Km) last weekend, with no issues.

Oh, as for upgrading, as has been mentioned several times, these wheels will support the 11 speed cassette. However, new crank and BB will be needed
Carl J is offline  
Old 03-27-18, 03:49 PM
  #491  
HerrKaLeun
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,421

Bikes: Giant Toughroad SLR1 and Motobecane Sturgis NX

Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 685 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 32 Times in 28 Posts
Tubeless with the old SX-2 rims

Has anyone gone tubeless with the older SX-2 rims (before giant labelled them as tubeless for 2018)?
i have the 2016 SLR 1 and the specs just call them SX-2. For 2018 Giant calls them SX-2 tubeless.
One could say in 2016 they sued the same rims, but just didn't call them tubeless. but since Giant uses no-name rims and slaps their name on, they can just use the same name (or the word "tubeless" just became part for the name for the newer actual tubeless ones).

I want to go tubeless, but don't want to hack with non-tubeless rated rims (I know there may be ghetto ways around that). I'm even willing to build new wheels (also for other reasons) to get actual tubeless rims.

If you want tubeless with the Giant rims, state if it seemed to be an actual tubeless rim that hooks into the tire or if you had to work around and use luck. Please also state what model year you have.

I did tubeless on my fatbike before with tubeless rated tires and rims and also know I will need tubeless rated tires.
HerrKaLeun is offline  
Old 03-28-18, 07:56 AM
  #492  
prj71
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 1,647
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 909 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 9 Times in 9 Posts
My guess is that it is the same rim as 2016, but in 2018 they put the tubeless tape on it for the consumer.
prj71 is offline  
Old 03-28-18, 04:42 PM
  #493  
HerrKaLeun
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,421

Bikes: Giant Toughroad SLR1 and Motobecane Sturgis NX

Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 685 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 32 Times in 28 Posts
Originally Posted by prj71 View Post
My guess is that it is the same rim as 2016, but in 2018 they put the tubeless tape on it for the consumer.
One would think so, but if they were already designed as tubeless in 2016 marketing sure would have pointed that out as a selling feature in 2016. Other companies had labelled their bikes to have "tubeless ready" rims at that time.

The fact Giant gives them the same "model#" doesn't' mean anything since this isn't a real model# since you can't just buy those rims like you can from an actual brand name rim manufacturer.

with going tubeless I also go Schrader (please no discussion on how good Presta is), and buy new tires, so just "try it out" is a bit more complex and i rather know beforehand if i should just build new wheels (obviously don't want to build new wheels just for the sake of it). so if someone actually tried the older rims tubeless, would be helpful to hear if they worked like tubeless-rated rims.
HerrKaLeun is offline  
Old 03-29-18, 12:33 PM
  #494  
prj71
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 1,647
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 909 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Tubeless ready more than likely means it had the tape applied from the factory. You are overthinking this.
prj71 is offline  
Old 04-14-18, 07:03 PM
  #495  
HerrKaLeun
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,421

Bikes: Giant Toughroad SLR1 and Motobecane Sturgis NX

Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 685 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 32 Times in 28 Posts
Originally Posted by prj71 View Post
Tubeless ready more than likely means it had the tape applied from the factory. You are overthinking this.
Well, i got my tubeless tires (Schwalbe almotion) and rim tape (sunringle) and installed them without problems.
tire fit on without tire lever and popped into place with the compressor. It wasn't all tight and needed sealant.

The original rim tape was not an adhesive tape, but a strip.

BTW, the 2" Schwalbe Almotion are a few mm smaller than the Stock 2" Maxxis. I have fenders and was afraid to buy the 2.15" Almotion. Knowing what I know now, I assume the 2.15" would have been the exact size as the 2" Maxxis.

The Almotion are heavier, but have some sturdier rubber. So even with tube they seem to be better. The Schwalbe Almotion weigh about 30g more than "Maxxis + tube" (TBH, the Maxxis were half worn out, so new they may have been a bit heavier).

Snowing right now, so I won't be able to test them for a few days.
HerrKaLeun is offline  
Old 04-15-18, 08:35 AM
  #496  
GLJo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by prj71 View Post
The ToughRoad is a 29er. Any 29 tire up to about 2.4 should fit.

Hmmm. On an SLR0, possibly. But I've tried 2.35 Schwalbe G-one Speed tyres (that only have about 0.5mm height of tread!) on my SLR1, and while the width is fine, on the rear tyre, they are super, SUPER close to the front derailleur mech bracket. And I mean there might only be a millimetre gap! way too close for comfort. I can see something with just a smidge higher tread/total diameter having issues.
GLJo is offline  
Old 05-18-18, 01:42 AM
  #497  
VR88
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
This thread is epic with such a wealth of information! So I've had my Toughroad SLR2 for a while now and I've been using it solely for commuting. I'm running 35c Conti Cyclocross Speed tyres, Ergon GP3 grips and a topeak rack with Ortlieb pannier.

I know a few of you have made some good upgrades, so now I'm curious. What would you suggest as being the best upgrades to do? I never used the third ring and the wheels do feel a little heavy. I'll soon stop commuting on it - I'd love to know how you'd make it more fun!

I've also been contemplating replacing it (if I have time to keep riding).

Last edited by VR88; 05-24-18 at 10:08 PM.
VR88 is offline  
Old 05-18-18, 10:32 PM
  #498  
ColonelSanders
Senior Member
 
ColonelSanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 3,943

Bikes: 2017 Surly Troll with XT Drive Train, 2017 Merida Big Nine XT Edition, 2016 Giant Toughroad SLR 2, 1995 Trek 830

Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1275 Post(s)
Liked 25 Times in 23 Posts
Originally Posted by VR88 View Post
This thread is epic with such a wealth of information! So I've had my Toughroad SLR2 for a while now and I've been using it solely for commuting (it's done almost 1000km). I'm running 35c Conti Cyclocross Speed tyres, Ergon GP3 grips and a topeak rack with Ortlieb pannier.

I know a few of you have made some good upgrades, so now I'm curious. What would you suggest as being the best upgrades to do? I never used the third ring and the wheels do feel a little heavy. I'll soon stop commuting on it, so it'll be a purely recreational bike - I'd love to know how you'd make it more fun!

I've also been contemplating replacing it, or simply going for n+1 with something like a dropbar gravel bike (i.e. Cannondale Slate Apex, Toughroad GX 0 - but they ran out of sizes in the end of year sales! Interesting, both of those are 1x).
My bottom bracket started to make crunchy noises after 6+ months, so I used that as an excuse to upgrade to a Hollowtech II crank and not only did I get a better looking crank and bottom bracket that together were at least 300grams lighter than what they replaced, I noticed the extra stiffness and this helped me with hill climbing(and I need all the help I can get).

For the sake of simplicity, I just upgraded to a triple crank with the same sized chainrings, so I didn't have to mess with my derailleurs and I then pretty much used my bike as a double crank, with 85% of my riding on the 32t middle ring and 15% on the 44t large ring.

Whilst my bike would shift smoothly to the 24t small ring, I just never bothered to do so and felt uneasy about doing so, even though there is no obvious reason to feel uneasy(chalk that up to my neuroticism).
ColonelSanders is offline  
Old 05-20-18, 01:28 AM
  #499  
VR88
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks Colonel. What crank did you buy?

I'm wondering whether it's worth converting to 2x10, or even 1x11 but that'll require a fair bit of expense I imagine.

Speaking of expense, how many people have upgraded wheels? Is it a worthwhile cost?

Part of me likes the idea of keeping the bike and making it more fun with some upgrades. I got an amazing price when I purchased it brand new so can probably factor in some costs.

I've been running DMR V8 flats for commuting but I picked up some XT M8020 pedals and XC5 shoes today. That should inject some more life back into my ride when I go 100% recreational/leisure riding in a couple of weeks.
VR88 is offline  
Old 05-20-18, 05:41 AM
  #500  
ColonelSanders
Senior Member
 
ColonelSanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 3,943

Bikes: 2017 Surly Troll with XT Drive Train, 2017 Merida Big Nine XT Edition, 2016 Giant Toughroad SLR 2, 1995 Trek 830

Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1275 Post(s)
Liked 25 Times in 23 Posts
Originally Posted by VR88 View Post
Thanks Colonel. What crank did you buy?

I'm wondering whether it's worth converting to 2x10, or even 1x11 but that'll require a fair bit of expense I imagine.
Because I didn't want to change any shifters or derailleurs, I went with this crankset.

SHIMANO DEORE FC-M591-S HOLLOWTECH II CRANKSET

The advertised price of 77.95 Euro's, includes a 19%VAT which won't apply if you live outside the Eurozone or the UK, so the actual price becomes 65.50Euro's for the crankset.
ColonelSanders is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.