Search
Notices
Clydesdales/Athenas (200+ lb / 91+ kg) Looking to lose that spare tire? Ideal weight 200+? Frustrated being a large cyclist in a sport geared for the ultra-light? Learn about the bikes and parts that can take the abuse of a heavier cyclist, how to keep your body going while losing the weight, and get support from others who've been successful.

New "Clyde"

Search this Thread

Old 12-29-14, 09:47 PM
Mako7

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
New "Clyde"

Hello, everyone. I am fairly new to cycling and have some questions. I guess this is the best place to start. To start off with, I am about 6'2" and currently 250. I started riding my bike August 10th and since have lost almost 60 pounds. I have ridden 1000 miles and feel great! My first goal weight is 225.
When I hit that goal weight, I would like to reward myself with a new bike. My question is, would getting a new hybrid, like say a Fuji Absolute 1.3, be able to handle my still rather large frame? I am a very big boned person and if I get under 200 pounds, I look skeletal and sickly. 200 - 225 might be a good weight for me, at least for a while, and I am concerned a hybrid like the one I am thinking of getting will wear out too quickly.
What are your thoughts? Any helpful advice will be greatly appreciated.
Old 12-30-14, 04:25 AM
scrming

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Even at your current weight of 250, it shouldn't be an issue for that bike. I ride a similar hybrid and a full carbon fiber road bike and weighed about 300 pounds. The Absolute will be a fine with 225!

Oh and Welcome and congrats on the weightloss and keep of the good work!
Old 12-30-14, 08:31 AM
GravelMN

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts