Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Hybrid Bicycles
Reload this Page >

Trying cycling for the first time (IM NEW TO THIS) - Marin?!??!?

Notices
Hybrid Bicycles Where else would you go to discuss these fun, versatile bikes?

Old 05-19-20, 01:58 PM
mister704

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

Hello All,

Thank you in advance for coming and helping me out here. So I have been back and forth for days/weeks trying to find the proper bike that I wanted. I wanted to stay under $1000, have some good gearing for uphill pulls and some good brakes for downhill stops and etc.

Key bike choices included:

1. Trek Dual Sport 3
2. Trek FX 3
3. Cannondale Quick CX
4. Specialized Sirrus 3.0
5. Marin Fairfax 3

So originally, I figured the extra suspension would be a good option for riding which I may or may not hit some gravel and simple trails. But after attempting to find all of the Dual Sport type bikes and ALL were sold out locally and hard to find online, I let it go. Every Trek here in the area were out and they didn't have the FX in yet so I was stuck. I like the Special Sirrus, but its already 2 guys with them, and I figured I would be different. So...after all the searching, I just grabbed a Marin Fairfax 3 for $845 shipped.

Hopefully, you all can tell me if I made a good decision. The only other option I had close to me was a bike shop Raleigh Route 2.0. It appears the Trek has more speed gearing options which I hoped for but I am still trying to do my research to understand more on the gearing and etc.

So anyone owns a Merlin and can share their thoughts??
Old 05-19-20, 02:17 PM
hokiefyd 

Bikes: More bikes than riders

Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Quoted: 1443 Post(s)
Liked 759 Times in 568 Posts