Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

Why buy an expensive bike?

Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Old 01-03-11, 08:12 PM
Marcos_BkSpclzd

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

ok so I am fairly new to cycling. I have only been cycling for about 6 months now and even then I haven't been riding religiously. I used to have a cheap road bike that I bought off a friend for like $50 and it was really heavy and uncomfortable and I rode it for about 4 months while I got a feel for cycling then I decided to invest in a better bike. So I bought a Specialized Allez Sport and have been riding that for a month and a half. I like it a lot more than my old bike of course but I was wondering why buy a real expensive bike like in the thousands, I understand that some people buy them to compete but I just don't see why spend thousands of dollars on a bike when you can buy a decent one for like maybe $1,500. I guess what I'm asking is why should I look forward to eventually spending a good chunk of change on a light weight bike when I have the one that I have now and it is just fine. No offense to the people that spend a lot of money on bikes but don't you think that as you get better your legs get stronger and you can push more weight?
Old 01-03-11, 08:16 PM
kabex

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Ride a $5k 14lb bike then judge for yourself.
Old 01-03-11, 08:19 PM
LesterOfPuppets
cowboy, steel horse, etc

Bikes: everywhere

Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12634 Post(s)
Liked 7,528 Times in 3,989 Posts