Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Classic & Vintage
Reload this Page >

Raleigh Pro Build and Some Thoughts on Patina

Search
Notices
Classic & Vintage This forum is to discuss the many aspects of classic and vintage bicycles, including musclebikes, lightweights, middleweights, hi-wheelers, bone-shakers, safety bikes and much more.

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-20, 10:17 PM
obrentharris 

Bikes: Indeed!

Mentioned: 92 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1506 Post(s)
Liked 3,464 Times in 1,130 Posts

Up until now I have always bought bikes with nice paint jobs or ones that were so badly rusted or rattlecanned that I had no qualms about repainting them... but I am finding my self drawn to bikes with patina, bikes that might tell a bit of a story, though not all stories are happy ones!

Looking for a bike to build on the cheap for this year's California Eroica, I came across this Raleigh Pro frameset at a reasonable price. I am not a Raleigh expert and the expert opinions I have seen leave me wondering whether it is a '72 or a '73. It seems to have some attributes of each, which I guess was pretty normal at Raleigh in the early seventies. Serial number is G4909. I welcome your suggestions.

A medium amount of patina I would say, but a nice project. Definitely some decisions to be made about what patina to keep and what to remove. If it were a valuable ancient artifact I suppose the archaeological curator might want to preserve every smear of old grease and every rust spot . I decided, however, that examples of rusty bicycles and old hardened grease are common enough that the world would be no worse off if I attempted to clean this bike up a little bit.