Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Training & Nutrition
Reload this Page >

Kinetic Road Machine Smart 2

Notices
Training & Nutrition Learn how to develop a training schedule that's good for you. What should you eat and drink on your ride? Learn everything you need to know about training and nutrition here.

Kinetic Road Machine Smart 2

Old 02-04-21, 03:42 PM
  #1  
fujidon
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
fujidon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: central NJ
Posts: 85

Bikes: Fuji Pro, Raleigh Team, touring bike, hybrid

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked 29 Times in 19 Posts
Kinetic Road Machine Smart 2

I just replaced an old Nashbar fluid trainer with the Kinetic Road Machine Smart 2. It's exactly what I was looking for. It's smooth, quiet, the resistance is linear and the flywheel adds just the right amount of momentum to simulate road feel.

It was $300 which, at first, I thought was a little high for a simple trainer, but after using it a few times, I feel it was well worth the price and I'm very happy with it.

Now for the negative... The trainer itself is great, but the app (Kurt Kinetic Fit app) is absolutely horrible. I didn't buy it for the app so it's no big deal for me, but for those that expect a reliable, intuitive app (and rightly so), I recommend a little research into the pros and cons of the app. As for me, I find the app so cumbersome and unreliable that I don't even plan on using it.

If anyone finds the app to be easy to use, I'd love to hear from you.
fujidon is offline  
Old 02-04-21, 07:17 PM
  #2  
surak
Senior Member
 
surak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Seattle
Posts: 1,334

Bikes: Specialized Roubaix, Canyon Inflite AL SLX, Priority Continuum Onyx, Santana Vision, Kent Dual-Drive Tandem

Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 553 Post(s)
Liked 375 Times in 211 Posts
The app is horrendous, it took me a long time to even understand that I had to tap the little disconnected symbol to connect my InRide sensor. Calibration is the only reason to use it.
surak is offline  
Old 02-07-21, 06:26 AM
  #3  
fujidon
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
fujidon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: central NJ
Posts: 85

Bikes: Fuji Pro, Raleigh Team, touring bike, hybrid

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked 29 Times in 19 Posts
I guess the Kinetic app isn't very popular. I thought for sure there would several comments on it.
fujidon is offline  
Old 02-07-21, 11:28 AM
  #4  
rubiksoval
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Music City, USA
Posts: 4,388

Bikes: bikes

Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2582 Post(s)
Liked 1,372 Times in 684 Posts
Why do you need the app?

Except for the very first time I got on my trainer, I've never once used the app for my Tacx.

I just use my Garmin and Zwift. Sometimes just the Garmin.
rubiksoval is offline  
Old 02-07-21, 12:44 PM
  #5  
fujidon
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
fujidon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: central NJ
Posts: 85

Bikes: Fuji Pro, Raleigh Team, touring bike, hybrid

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked 29 Times in 19 Posts
Originally Posted by rubiksoval View Post
Why do you need the app?

Except for the very first time I got on my trainer, I've never once used the app for my Tacx.

I just use my Garmin and Zwift. Sometimes just the Garmin.
It would be useful to know the wattage/speed/cadence and I don't know how to get it without the app. Are there other apps that are compatible?

I'm not really interested in Zwift (I just listen to music while I'm on the trainer) and I don't have a Garmin.
fujidon is offline  
Old 02-07-21, 12:53 PM
  #6  
caloso
Senior Member
 
caloso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sacramento, California, USA
Posts: 39,893

Bikes: Ridley Excalibur, Gazelle Champion Mondial, On-One Pompino, Specialized Rock Hopper

Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2543 Post(s)
Liked 1,811 Times in 895 Posts
I agree. It’s terrible. If you don’t want to do zwift, you could use the 4iiii app. It’s free and I believe that it will connect with any BT power meter and display wattage, cadence, HR if you also have an HRM.
caloso is offline  
Old 02-07-21, 02:10 PM
  #7  
rubiksoval
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Music City, USA
Posts: 4,388

Bikes: bikes

Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2582 Post(s)
Liked 1,372 Times in 684 Posts
Originally Posted by fujidon View Post
It would be useful to know the wattage/speed/cadence and I don't know how to get it without the app. Are there other apps that are compatible?

I'm not really interested in Zwift (I just listen to music while I'm on the trainer) and I don't have a Garmin.
Strava?
rubiksoval is offline  
Old 02-07-21, 02:51 PM
  #8  
sdmc530
Heft On Wheels
 
sdmc530's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 2,883

Bikes: Specialized,Cannondale,Argon 18

Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 785 Post(s)
Liked 389 Times in 260 Posts
I have the same trainer just an older version. The app they have is CRAP, I would use stronger words but I can't. Its only useful for calibrating the trainer, that is it. Not even sure that is right.

I am a Zwifter so its awesome for that. I do use the Kinetic app for calibrating though. Zwift power numbers are a touch inflated compared to the app and my PM on bike.

Strava is overrated, if you are just after a few data points the Kinetic app is probably adequate but for anything else....no way.

Zwift is where its at for me!
sdmc530 is offline  
Old 02-07-21, 03:15 PM
  #9  
Thomas15
I think I know nothing.
 
Thomas15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NE PA
Posts: 658
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 220 Post(s)
Liked 270 Times in 190 Posts
Originally Posted by surak View Post
The app is horrendous, it took me a long time to even understand that I had to tap the little disconnected symbol to connect my InRide sensor. Calibration is the only reason to use it.
Agree.

I used the RM with InRide for over a year and it transformed my riding. I bought mine used back in saner times for very little money. Recently upgraded with the Control Power Unit and after a few fits have it working very well.

I used the Kinetic app a few times when I started and it really isn't good. After using the app just 2 or 3 times moved on to Zwift and that was that. I get it, different people have different likes and dislikes but I personally never would have put anywhere near the 3500 or so trainer miles last year just looking at my iPhone and a small green monochrome screen even with music turned up to 11. I think there are alternatives to Zwift that are less money but as an individual that rides 150 miles/week on Zwift is a bargain. It has a few flaws for sure, the workout programs have issues but you can download 3rd party workouts, both free and pay or make your own. You can also link to Strava and Training Peaks and other services. I say this not to sell anything just to say for some it is worth a closer look.

With your Kinetic RM you cannot use ERG mode but Zwift supports your trainer so your power meter function is quite accurate. You just have to use your gears to compensate for the lack of trainer feedback.
Thomas15 is offline  
Old 02-07-21, 03:26 PM
  #10  
rubiksoval
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Music City, USA
Posts: 4,388

Bikes: bikes

Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2582 Post(s)
Liked 1,372 Times in 684 Posts
Originally Posted by sdmc530 View Post

Strava is overrated, if you are just after a few data points the Kinetic app is probably adequate but for anything else....no way.

Zwift is where its at for me!
??? Strava and Zwift do completely different things. Strava records and/or stores ride metrics, Zwift is the ride (virtually).
rubiksoval is offline  
Likes For rubiksoval:
Old 02-07-21, 04:28 PM
  #11  
sdmc530
Heft On Wheels
 
sdmc530's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 2,883

Bikes: Specialized,Cannondale,Argon 18

Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 785 Post(s)
Liked 389 Times in 260 Posts
Originally Posted by rubiksoval View Post
??? Strava and Zwift do completely different things. Strava records and/or stores ride metrics, Zwift is the ride (virtually).

Sort of different. Every Zwift route is on Strava. But yeah they are different social platforms, your very correct.

Stava is still a crap show. Would never pay for that dumpster fire. It was a good product a while back but when they starting messing with the purchase levels or 3 packages and now the current version is nothing a person needs at all.
sdmc530 is offline  
Old 02-07-21, 06:12 PM
  #12  
fujidon
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
fujidon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: central NJ
Posts: 85

Bikes: Fuji Pro, Raleigh Team, touring bike, hybrid

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked 29 Times in 19 Posts
I'm not looking for an app that connects me to other users nor an app that offers training programs. All I want is an app that gives me speed/cadence/watts. if I can avoid losing too much fitness during the winter, I'll be happy.

I listen to music during my 30 to 45 minute sessions on the trainer and I hate every minute of it, but if it helps me to enjoy my outdoor bike rides (usually 30 to 40 miles), it's worth it.
fujidon is offline  
Old 02-07-21, 06:27 PM
  #13  
caloso
Senior Member
 
caloso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sacramento, California, USA
Posts: 39,893

Bikes: Ridley Excalibur, Gazelle Champion Mondial, On-One Pompino, Specialized Rock Hopper

Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2543 Post(s)
Liked 1,811 Times in 895 Posts
Originally Posted by fujidon View Post
I'm not looking for an app that connects me to other users nor an app that offers training programs. All I want is an app that gives me speed/cadence/watts. if I can avoid losing too much fitness during the winter, I'll be happy.

I listen to music during my 30 to 45 minute sessions on the trainer and I hate every minute of it, but if it helps me to enjoy my outdoor bike rides (usually 30 to 40 miles), it's worth it.
Something like this?
caloso is offline  
Old 02-07-21, 06:41 PM
  #14  
fujidon
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
fujidon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: central NJ
Posts: 85

Bikes: Fuji Pro, Raleigh Team, touring bike, hybrid

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked 29 Times in 19 Posts
Exactly! That's all I want.
fujidon is offline  
Old 02-07-21, 08:02 PM
  #15  
rubiksoval
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Music City, USA
Posts: 4,388

Bikes: bikes

Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2582 Post(s)
Liked 1,372 Times in 684 Posts
Originally Posted by sdmc530 View Post

Stava is still a crap show. Would never pay for that dumpster fire. It was a good product a while back but when they starting messing with the purchase levels or 3 packages and now the current version is nothing a person needs at all.
I love Strava. Absolutely brilliant for segments and route mapping and seeing what everyone else is doing. Nothing else even remotely on the market to compare it to.
rubiksoval is offline  
Old 02-07-21, 08:32 PM
  #16  
spelger
Senior Member
 
spelger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: reno, nv
Posts: 727

Bikes: yes, i have one

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 346 Post(s)
Liked 287 Times in 158 Posts
Originally Posted by rubiksoval View Post
I love Strava. Absolutely brilliant for segments and route mapping and seeing what everyone else is doing. Nothing else even remotely on the market to compare it to.
I like strava too but I thought they dropped support for sensors a while back. maybe now just part of the subscription?
spelger is offline  
Old 02-07-21, 08:34 PM
  #17  
caloso
Senior Member
 
caloso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sacramento, California, USA
Posts: 39,893

Bikes: Ridley Excalibur, Gazelle Champion Mondial, On-One Pompino, Specialized Rock Hopper

Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2543 Post(s)
Liked 1,811 Times in 895 Posts
I don’t mind paying for Strava. I love seeing what my friends are doing and it helps me find new places to ride.
caloso is offline  
Old 02-08-21, 12:36 PM
  #18  
Thomas15
I think I know nothing.
 
Thomas15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NE PA
Posts: 658
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 220 Post(s)
Liked 270 Times in 190 Posts
There is at least one Kurt Kinetic face book group. Perhaps see if anyone there has a solution to the problem?

Other than that, might just wait out the winter it's halfway over
Thomas15 is offline  
Old 02-08-21, 04:03 PM
  #19  
fujidon
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
fujidon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: central NJ
Posts: 85

Bikes: Fuji Pro, Raleigh Team, touring bike, hybrid

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked 29 Times in 19 Posts
Originally Posted by Thomas15 View Post
There is at least one Kurt Kinetic face book group. Perhaps see if anyone there has a solution to the problem?

Other than that, might just wait out the winter it's halfway over
Best advice yet <G>
fujidon is offline  
Old 02-08-21, 04:04 PM
  #20  
fujidon
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
fujidon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: central NJ
Posts: 85

Bikes: Fuji Pro, Raleigh Team, touring bike, hybrid

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked 29 Times in 19 Posts
I installed the 4iiii app, but it doesn't see the Kinetic sensor to connect to it.

Last edited by fujidon; 02-08-21 at 04:05 PM. Reason: missed an "i"
fujidon is offline  
Old 02-08-21, 04:27 PM
  #21  
caloso
Senior Member
 
caloso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sacramento, California, USA
Posts: 39,893

Bikes: Ridley Excalibur, Gazelle Champion Mondial, On-One Pompino, Specialized Rock Hopper

Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2543 Post(s)
Liked 1,811 Times in 895 Posts
Originally Posted by fujidon View Post
I installed the 4iiii app, but it doesn't see the Kinetic sensor to connect to it.
Are there any other devices connecting to the Kinetic? I believe that BT can only connect to one device at a time.
caloso is offline  
Old 02-08-21, 04:39 PM
  #22  
fujidon
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
fujidon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: central NJ
Posts: 85

Bikes: Fuji Pro, Raleigh Team, touring bike, hybrid

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked 29 Times in 19 Posts
Originally Posted by caloso View Post
Are there any other devices connecting to the Kinetic? I believe that BT can only connect to one device at a time.
BT? I don't know what that is, but there were no other devices connected to the Kinetic sensor.
fujidon is offline  
Old 02-08-21, 05:30 PM
  #23  
caloso
Senior Member
 
caloso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sacramento, California, USA
Posts: 39,893

Bikes: Ridley Excalibur, Gazelle Champion Mondial, On-One Pompino, Specialized Rock Hopper

Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2543 Post(s)
Liked 1,811 Times in 895 Posts
Sorry. BT = Bluetooth. The Kinetic transmits in Bluetooth. Maybe try making the Kinetic app "forget" the trainer.
caloso is offline  
Old 02-08-21, 05:37 PM
  #24  
fujidon
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
fujidon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: central NJ
Posts: 85

Bikes: Fuji Pro, Raleigh Team, touring bike, hybrid

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked 29 Times in 19 Posts
Originally Posted by caloso View Post
Sorry. BT = Bluetooth. The Kinetic transmits in Bluetooth. Maybe try making the Kinetic app "forget" the trainer.
Thanks, I'll give it a try.
fujidon is offline  
Old 02-09-21, 05:50 AM
  #25  
rubiksoval
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Music City, USA
Posts: 4,388

Bikes: bikes

Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2582 Post(s)
Liked 1,372 Times in 684 Posts
If you've already invested in the trainer and are having this much difficulty with it, just get a proper GPS enabled cycling computer. Save you all the headaches and get you every single thing you want, plus all of that outdoors, too.

Besides, training with power indoors is a very slippery slope! You'll very likely want a powermeter to go outdoors, too, at some point. Otherwise, you'll miss all the data!
rubiksoval is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.