Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Hardisty steelframe - Build advice

Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Old 05-26-20, 10:48 AM
muskatli

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hey guys, I am completely new at bike building but I managed to put my hands on this frame (which I think is pretty nice but nothing fancy really I guess) for cheap - Hardisty steelframe - Columbus SLX tubing.

I'd like to build a simple single speed commuter out of this and all I've got is a pair of wheels and this frameset.

My question would be, what would you put on this frame to build a nice singlespeed? - is it worth buying some better branded stuff (if yes, what do you recommend)?
I reckon the bottom bracket is standard English BSA threaded (68mm width) - correct me if I am wrong. What should be the spindle width? Any good medium priced cranksets that you could recommend? (Sorry I have tons of questions)

Thanks in advance guys!
Old 05-26-20, 12:22 PM
Litespud

Bikes: 2000 Litespeed Vortex Chorus 10, 1995 DeBernardi Cromor S/S

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Quoted: 645 Post(s)
Liked 797 Times in 446 Posts
Originally Posted by muskatli
Hey guys, I am completely new at bike building but I managed to put my hands on this frame (which I think is pretty nice but nothing fancy really I guess) for cheap - Hardisty steelframe - Columbus SLX tubing.

I'd like to build a simple single speed commuter out of this and all I've got is a pair of wheels and this frameset.

My question would be, what would you put on this frame to build a nice singlespeed? - is it worth buying some better branded stuff (if yes, what do you recommend)?