Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Training & Nutrition
Reload this Page >

Need some help with losing a few pounds, diet questions

Search
Notices
Training & Nutrition Learn how to develop a training schedule that's good for you. What should you eat and drink on your ride? Learn everything you need to know about training and nutrition here.

Search this Thread

Old 06-02-11, 08:35 AM
jschristian44

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hi guys,
So I just started riding my road bike about 10-20 miles every day for the past 2 weeks or so. I am determined to lose some weight. I am really not that overweight, but I am in the high range for my height. I also want to feel better. I am about 5'11" and weigh about 180. When I first started riding I weighed in at 178, and I think I gained 2 lbs of muscle or water weight during that time or something. I do feel a little better though. But I keep hearing that it's what you eat is how you lose weight and not exercising. I was never on a diet before because I was never really overweight, and I know it is harder for skinnier people to lose weight than it is for overweight people. Like, I know it's going to take longer to lose 20 lbs at my height/weight ratio that it would for say a 5'10" person who weighs 280. But, I am going to keep up my cycling regime for quite a while I think. I enjoy it. But how would I get about started on a diet regime, or just eating the right foods to lose the weight? Can I keep eating what I want, in portions conservatively, without a food schedule. I always dispesed those weight watchers and stuff my mom was always on. She had to write in what she ate, etc and I just don't like that.
Old 06-02-11, 08:42 AM
Cateye

Bikes: Orbea

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Ride more-Eat less
Old 06-02-11, 09:10 AM
hyegeek

Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts