Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Classic & Vintage
Reload this Page >

Looking for guidance regarding 1982 Bianchi

Search
Notices
Classic & Vintage This forum is to discuss the many aspects of classic and vintage bicycles, including musclebikes, lightweights, middleweights, hi-wheelers, bone-shakers, safety bikes and much more.

Search this Thread

Old 10-20-19, 02:32 PM
Fem_ilk

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Https : // m.imgur . com/gallery/MKSLs4j

Relevant link above (I couldn’t paste a normal link)

Hello!

I am new to vintage bikes and am looking for some guidance!

I started out looking for which crankset was original to the bike, thinking it was a 1981, but now it seems that I found the correct bicycle in the 1982 catalog. However I’m still not 100% sure but the crankset checks out and it seems that the gipiemme dual sprint is the original.

It seems that the brakes might be the right ones too as they are the Universal no.77 which were also featured on the nuovo from 1982.

I’m wondering what handlebars plugs were original because I don’t think Cateye model 800 is it chief. Also wondering what brake lever hoods would be original to this bike.

Also wondering what else is unoriginal on it right now. (Except the clipless pedals, they are getting changed into age appropriate Gipiemme dual sprint ones once I have the right crankset.)

I was told it’s from 1981 originally, but now I think it’s a Bianchi Nuovo Touring from 1982 but I’m not completely certain. The frame should be 57cm and I think the wheels are 28”? I was looking at the 1981 catalog and couldn’t find the bike there, however I had more luck on the 1982 catalog.