Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Commuting
Reload this Page >

Commuter Panniers?

Search
Notices
Commuting Bicycle commuting is easier than you think, before you know it, you'll be hooked. Learn the tips, hints, equipment, safety requirements for safely riding your bike to work.

Commuter Panniers?

Search this Thread

Old 10-11-18, 08:01 PM
zacster

Bikes: Kuota Kredo/Chorus, Trek 7000 commuter, Trek 8000 MTB and a few others

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked 461 Times in 363 Posts
Commuter Panniers?

I've been using a Knog bag as my commuter pannier for a few years now and it is getting kind of ratty. This bag has a system where the attachment clips onto the bag and then it hangs from the rack but it has no attachment at the bottom to keep it fully secure. I've been using a bungee cord to keep it stable and I don't really have a problem with that. The bag itself has a pocket for a laptop, a rain hood that is zipped into the bottom of the bag that I've never used, a wide shoulder strap, and a few internal pockets. The thing I never liked about the bag is that it is relatively flat so it is pretty limited in what goes in. Being flat though it keeps my clothes from shifting, so maybe that's a good thing

I"m looking for a replacement that attaches easily and securely, has a little more space but will still keep my clothes secure, and will easily convert to a backpack or messenger bag. It does not have to be waterproof as I never ride in any rain that's hard enough to get things wet. I am not looking for big panniers that I can travel with, just a commuter type bag, and single sided was always sufficient. A wine bottle pocket would be a nice addition too as the guys in the wine shop think it is funny that I come in sometimes with my commuter bike and bag, but other times in my roadie kit and I put the bottle in my middle rear pocket of my jersey. Isn't that what Italian cycling jerseys are for?