Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Can you identify this crankset?

Search
Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Search this Thread

Old 01-06-24, 10:43 AM
cycle_plaza

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

Hi,

As a relative newb, I can't post photos, but there are three of the crankset in my gallery:
bikeforums.net/g/album/edit/page/1/?album_id=32210866

I'm trying to find a replacement for this crankset.

Doesn't have to be the same model, but just the right type and dimensions. I initially bought a Shimano FC-TY501 to replace it, which is fine except q-factor is much wider (further between pedals): 185.5mm. See them side by side in this photo:
bikeforums.net/g/picture/32273755

O
nly about half the gears can be reached with this new Shimano chainset, I assume because the chainline is out due to wider q-factor. Otherwise it's right:
- crank arm is 170mm
- BB type: square

Don't mind about the chainring teeth. Just want the gears to work. Is there a best way to measure the q-factor?
Many thanks

Last edited by cycle_plaza; 01-06-24 at 02:43 PM.
Old 01-06-24, 10:54 AM
Iride01 
I'm good to go!

Bikes: Tarmac Disc Comp Di2 - 2020

Mentioned: 52 Post(s)
Quoted: 6341 Post(s)
Liked 4,937 Times in 3,399 Posts
Are these the ones?

https://www.bikeforums.net/g/album/32210866

Last edited by Iride01; 01-06-24 at 11:27 AM.
Old 01-06-24, 11:04 AM
Iride01 
I'm good to go!

Bikes: Tarmac Disc Comp Di2 - 2020

Mentioned: 52 Post(s)
Quoted: 6341 Post(s)
Liked 4,937 Times in 3,399 Posts
q-factor is the width between the two planes the crank arms spin in where the pedals attach. Or something like that. It only affects how wide you have to put your feet. Not your chain line.