Go Back  Bike Forums > The Lounge > Foo
Reload this Page >

Using A Droid As A Wireless Net Connection

Notices
Foo Off-Topic chit chat with no general subject.

Using A Droid As A Wireless Net Connection

Old 02-22-11, 10:21 PM
  #26  
KrisPistofferson
Immoderator
Thread Starter
 
KrisPistofferson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: POS Tennessee
Posts: 7,630

Bikes: Gary Fisher Simple City 8, Litespeed Obed

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Good for you on not smoking. It's tough, but it's worth it.
__________________
Originally Posted by Bikeforums
Your rights end where another poster's feelings begin.
KrisPistofferson is offline  
Old 02-23-11, 08:12 AM
  #27  
HardyWeinberg
GATC
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: south Puget Sound
Posts: 8,722
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 463 Post(s)
Liked 33 Times in 21 Posts
I haven't paid for the hotspot service but mine has a checkbox for '3G mobile hotspot' under settings; I check that and it tells me I haven't paid for it but it checks anyway. then I go to the next menu item down (under settings) which is '3g mobile hotspot settings'. It lets me enter 'router name', 'security' (which is the type of encryption, its default is wpa2) and then password (8-63 ascii characters). That is the WPA key you want. You can reset it from the phone.

If you don't have the same interface as me, the above won't help as much.

And it sounds like, from TexasGuy, you're doomed anyway because the PS3 needs a computer not a phone to talk to.

Good luck figuring it all out.
HardyWeinberg is offline  
Old 02-23-11, 08:46 AM
  #28  
black_box 
Fax Transport Specialist
 
black_box's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: chicago burbs
Posts: 971

Bikes: '17 giant propel, '07 fuji cross pro, '10 gary fisher x-caliber

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 11 Times in 6 Posts
it may not be the same, but here's what I would do for my t-mobile G2 (no modifications, android 2.2):

Settings->Wireless and Networks->Tethering & portable hotspot
Check the Portable Wi-Fi hotspot box
Click Portable Wi-Fi hotspot settings
Click Configure WiFi hotspot
Change the network SSID if you wish (default is AndroidAP)
Change the security drop down box to something (options are Open and WPA2 PSK)
Enter in a password.

Then set up your PS3 with the network name (androidAP, etc) and the password you set. Maybe you can leave the password blank if you don't think other people will be hopping onto your connection.

I've only used USB tethering, it's also built-in and enabled in that first menu. Maybe that's an option for you? My phone turned on the wi-fi hotspot just fine and I don't pay any extra fees for that.
black_box is offline  
Old 02-23-11, 09:14 AM
  #29  
SingingSabre 
BF's Level 12 Wizard
 
SingingSabre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Secret mobile lair
Posts: 1,425

Bikes: Diamondback Sorrento turned Xtracycle commuter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by black_box View Post
it may not be the same, but here's what I would do for my t-mobile G2 (no modifications, android 2.2):

Settings->Wireless and Networks->Tethering & portable hotspot
Check the Portable Wi-Fi hotspot box
Click Portable Wi-Fi hotspot settings
Click Configure WiFi hotspot
Change the network SSID if you wish (default is AndroidAP)
Change the security drop down box to something (options are Open and WPA2 PSK)
Enter in a password.

Then set up your PS3 with the network name (androidAP, etc) and the password you set. Maybe you can leave the password blank if you don't think other people will be hopping onto your connection.

I've only used USB tethering, it's also built-in and enabled in that first menu. Maybe that's an option for you? My phone turned on the wi-fi hotspot just fine and I don't pay any extra fees for that.
This sounds, for all intents and purposes, exactly like what I was going to suggest.

If that doesn't solve it, head over to the android.net forums and ask there.
__________________
Shameless plugs:
Work
Photography
Vanity
Originally Posted by Bklyn
Obviously, the guy's like a 12th level white wizard or something. His mere presence is a danger to mortals.
SingingSabre is offline  
Old 02-23-11, 11:38 AM
  #30  
apclassic9
Caustic Soccer Mom
 
apclassic9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Millstone WV
Posts: 1,761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
or, gee, call your cell phone company that you have your contract with, and have them set it up for you. You pay for this service, right?
__________________
As with mud, life, too, slides by.
apclassic9 is offline  
Old 02-23-11, 11:39 AM
  #31  
TexasGuy
That darn Yankee
 
TexasGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: West West Fort Worth
Posts: 4,286

Bikes: Mongoose XR-100, Eros Bianchi

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
__________________
Life is about hanging onto what you think is important and finding out what really is important.
"Stop Ruining my joke!", "No, a joke implies humor attached at no additional cost"
So many sayings, so little sig space.
TexasGuy is offline  
Old 02-23-11, 07:16 PM
  #32  
KrisPistofferson
Immoderator
Thread Starter
 
KrisPistofferson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: POS Tennessee
Posts: 7,630

Bikes: Gary Fisher Simple City 8, Litespeed Obed

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by apclassic9 View Post
or, gee, call your cell phone company that you have your contract with, and have them set it up for you. You pay for this service, right?
So this actually turnedout to be the best advice. My PS3 is working now, (although I did have to spend some extra dough per month.)
__________________
Originally Posted by Bikeforums
Your rights end where another poster's feelings begin.
KrisPistofferson is offline  
Old 02-24-11, 08:08 AM
  #33  
apclassic9
Caustic Soccer Mom
 
apclassic9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Millstone WV
Posts: 1,761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
__________________
As with mud, life, too, slides by.
apclassic9 is offline  
Old 02-24-11, 08:22 AM
  #34  
HardyWeinberg
GATC
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: south Puget Sound
Posts: 8,722
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 463 Post(s)
Liked 33 Times in 21 Posts
Originally Posted by apclassic9 View Post
HardyWeinberg is offline  
Old 02-24-11, 11:33 AM
  #35  
apclassic9
Caustic Soccer Mom
 
apclassic9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Millstone WV
Posts: 1,761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Okay, I'll admit it: I have NO CLUE when it comes to this stuff. I do, however, get to be on a 1st name basis with all those tech support people with the answers!
__________________
As with mud, life, too, slides by.
apclassic9 is offline  
Old 02-25-11, 11:40 PM
  #36  
skiahh
Senior Member
 
skiahh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: CO Springs, CO
Posts: 1,033

Bikes: 08 Stumpjumper FSR Expert, 02 Litespeed Tuscany, 04 Specialized S-Works Epic

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by black_box View Post
it may not be the same, but here's what I would do for my t-mobile G2 (no modifications, android 2.2):

Settings->Wireless and Networks->Tethering & portable hotspot
Check the Portable Wi-Fi hotspot box
Click Portable Wi-Fi hotspot settings
Click Configure WiFi hotspot
Change the network SSID if you wish (default is AndroidAP)
Change the security drop down box to something (options are Open and WPA2 PSK)
Enter in a password.

Then set up your PS3 with the network name (androidAP, etc) and the password you set. Maybe you can leave the password blank if you don't think other people will be hopping onto your connection.

I've only used USB tethering, it's also built-in and enabled in that first menu. Maybe that's an option for you? My phone turned on the wi-fi hotspot just fine and I don't pay any extra fees for that.
This is essentially the right answer and probably what the tech support told him. Not sure which forums everyone was looking at that said you couldn't do this.

The Droids can be a mobile hotspot... that is, a wireless router for any device that connects to one. It's not an ad hoc network, it's an actual router.

Verizon wants you to pay $20/month for this access, though it's easily gained, even without root (superuser) access.

Glad you finally figured it out, kris.
skiahh is offline  
Old 02-25-11, 11:44 PM
  #37  
TexasGuy
That darn Yankee
 
TexasGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: West West Fort Worth
Posts: 4,286

Bikes: Mongoose XR-100, Eros Bianchi

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by skiahh View Post
This is essentially the right answer and probably what the tech support told him. Not sure which forums everyone was looking at that said you couldn't do this.

The Droids can be a mobile hotspot... that is, a wireless router for any device that connects to one. It's not an ad hoc network, it's an actual router.

Verizon wants you to pay $20/month for this access, though it's easily gained, even without root (superuser) access.

Glad you finally figured it out, kris.
From what I understand that was the crux. They're charging 20 bucks a month extra to let you use your device.
Because yeah, that wa the problem PS3 can't connect to ad-hoc networks, and the device apparently advertises it's wifi as an "ad-hoc"
Kind of amusing they find that to be 20 bucks worth, since as far as I know the PS3 is about the only device with that type of limitation on who can connect .

But I guess it's not called robbing if you're giving away your money willingly.
__________________
Life is about hanging onto what you think is important and finding out what really is important.
"Stop Ruining my joke!", "No, a joke implies humor attached at no additional cost"
So many sayings, so little sig space.
TexasGuy is offline  
Old 02-25-11, 11:45 PM
  #38  
TexasGuy
That darn Yankee
 
TexasGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: West West Fort Worth
Posts: 4,286

Bikes: Mongoose XR-100, Eros Bianchi

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by skiahh View Post
This is essentially the right answer and probably what the tech support told him. Not sure which forums everyone was looking at that said you couldn't do this.

The Droids can be a mobile hotspot... that is, a wireless router for any device that connects to one. It's not an ad hoc network, it's an actual router.

Verizon wants you to pay $20/month for this access, though it's easily gained, even without root (superuser) access.

Glad you finally figured it out, kris.
And , HI.
__________________
Life is about hanging onto what you think is important and finding out what really is important.
"Stop Ruining my joke!", "No, a joke implies humor attached at no additional cost"
So many sayings, so little sig space.
TexasGuy is offline  
Old 02-26-11, 12:57 PM
  #39  
skiahh
Senior Member
 
skiahh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: CO Springs, CO
Posts: 1,033

Bikes: 08 Stumpjumper FSR Expert, 02 Litespeed Tuscany, 04 Specialized S-Works Epic

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Trust me, it doesn't identify itself as as-hoc; it's a full up router when you enable the hotspot.

Verizon charges an extra $20/month for the supposed extra bandwidth you'll use with your computer tied to their 3G network. Since I pay for unlimited data on my phone, I'm not quite OK with the logic of this, but who knows; maybe it does cost extra? Besides, I could run up to 5 devices on my hotspot, so it could consume a lot of bandwidth I guess.

But no problem hooking up any wifi device to the hotspot regardless of how you get it activated. There are many posts on the android forums about this topic and various solutions.
skiahh is offline  
Old 02-27-11, 08:36 AM
  #40  
thisisbenji
Senior Member
 
thisisbenji's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wadsworth, IL
Posts: 466

Bikes: Motobecane Vent Noir, Specialized Crux, Specialized Carve

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
On my HTC G2, you just go to settings > wireless & networks > tethering & portable hotspot > then check the box that says portable Wi-Fi hotspot. And then I'm ready to go, no need for a WEP key. I don't even pay extra for the the wifi hotspot, nor have I modified my phone at all.
thisisbenji is offline  
Old 02-27-11, 09:40 AM
  #41  
skiahh
Senior Member
 
skiahh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: CO Springs, CO
Posts: 1,033

Bikes: 08 Stumpjumper FSR Expert, 02 Litespeed Tuscany, 04 Specialized S-Works Epic

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
But if you do that, are you opening up your hotspot to anyone who wants to sign on?

And if you're running an unsecured hotspot, you're giving anyone in range access to your phone and any devices connected to it. I used my phone on an unsecured wifi a couple of months ago and within a few days, someone from Pakistan was sending out spam from my gmail account. They grabbed the session cookie which was valid until I logged off, so had access to the account while I stayed logged in. Had I been on a secure connection, they wouldn't have been able to get that cookie.

Paying extra for the hotspot is a Verizon thing, not the phone's.
skiahh is offline  
Old 02-27-11, 05:25 PM
  #42  
thisisbenji
Senior Member
 
thisisbenji's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wadsworth, IL
Posts: 466

Bikes: Motobecane Vent Noir, Specialized Crux, Specialized Carve

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Ah I see, my girlfriend has a Droid Eris on Verizon but it's running a custom ROM because they don't support it with updates anymore so I didn't realize that. Also even with no security when something tries to connect to my G2 I get a notification on the phone that I have to accept. It's super easy to turn on security though, I'm just too lazy.
thisisbenji is offline  
Old 02-28-11, 09:00 AM
  #43  
black_box 
Fax Transport Specialist
 
black_box's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: chicago burbs
Posts: 971

Bikes: '17 giant propel, '07 fuji cross pro, '10 gary fisher x-caliber

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 11 Times in 6 Posts
Originally Posted by skiahh View Post
I used my phone on an unsecured wifi a couple of months ago and within a few days, someone from Pakistan was sending out spam from my gmail account. They grabbed the session cookie which was valid until I logged off, so had access to the account while I stayed logged in. Had I been on a secure connection, they wouldn't have been able to get that cookie.
yikes. do you know how they get access like that? are they grabbing information that is sent over the air interface or actually connecting to your phone and downloading it? Does it matter how the phone connects to the email server, via the built-in client or through the web browser?
black_box is offline  
Old 02-28-11, 09:46 PM
  #44  
skiahh
Senior Member
 
skiahh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: CO Springs, CO
Posts: 1,033

Bikes: 08 Stumpjumper FSR Expert, 02 Litespeed Tuscany, 04 Specialized S-Works Epic

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
If I understand it correctly, they intercept your session cookie. That contains the cookie for the current session which gives the ability to do things like send email, but doesn't give access to change the password, since you typically have to enter the current password to change to a new one. The cookies are transmitted unencrypted, even on a secure connection. So if you're on an unsecure wifi connection, anyone can pick them right out of the air. If you're on a a secure (WEP, WPA, WPA2; though WEP is easy to crack, too), the info is encrypted from the router to your device so can't be intercepted by someone not on the network.

I guess that in theory, if you're in a hotel, for example, that uses a secure network, anyone with the password could grab your stuff, too. But that's a lot fewer people than anyone with a receiver and some simple software, right?

I suppose if you're working on an unsecured network, it's no different that if you have a computer on a network and they could gain access somehow, but I haven't heard of that happening yet, short of you installing some app that opens a back door to your phone.

Originally Posted by thisisbenji View Post
Also even with no security when something tries to connect to my G2 I get a notification on the phone that I have to accept. It's super easy to turn on security though, I'm just too lazy.
That may be, but on an unsecured network, they don't have to connect to your phone... they can just read the data going between the phone and the router to get what they need. That's the issue, not whether they can connect to your hotspot!

Last edited by skiahh; 02-28-11 at 09:58 PM.
skiahh is offline  
Old 02-28-11, 11:26 PM
  #45  
TexasGuy
That darn Yankee
 
TexasGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: West West Fort Worth
Posts: 4,286

Bikes: Mongoose XR-100, Eros Bianchi

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have a friend who got his gmail account nabbed in that similar fashion. And he has absolutely no idea how it happened because he's extremely security conscious.

However, what I don't buy about the stealing the session cookie: Gmail is supposed to SSL encrypt all to that stuff. Are they able to do a MITM sniff through an SSL cert if they observed the SSL connection initiated?
__________________
Life is about hanging onto what you think is important and finding out what really is important.
"Stop Ruining my joke!", "No, a joke implies humor attached at no additional cost"
So many sayings, so little sig space.
TexasGuy is offline  
Old 02-28-11, 11:55 PM
  #46  
skiahh
Senior Member
 
skiahh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: CO Springs, CO
Posts: 1,033

Bikes: 08 Stumpjumper FSR Expert, 02 Litespeed Tuscany, 04 Specialized S-Works Epic

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by TexasGuy View Post
I have a friend who got his gmail account nabbed in that similar fashion. And he has absolutely no idea how it happened because he's extremely security conscious.

However, what I don't buy about the stealing the session cookie: Gmail is supposed to SSL encrypt all to that stuff. Are they able to do a MITM sniff through an SSL cert if they observed the SSL connection initiated?
https://www.tgdaily.com/security-feat...g-at-black-hat

Last edited by skiahh; 03-01-11 at 12:00 AM.
skiahh is offline  
Old 03-01-11, 12:04 AM
  #47  
TexasGuy
That darn Yankee
 
TexasGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: West West Fort Worth
Posts: 4,286

Bikes: Mongoose XR-100, Eros Bianchi

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
But that doesn't make sense...................
That is a 3 year old post and talking about a behavior that has, I think been LONG nixed. The default behavior, and as far as I know has been for a long time to always redirect you to an SSL encrypted page.

And an SSL Encrypted page should be just that.
__________________
Life is about hanging onto what you think is important and finding out what really is important.
"Stop Ruining my joke!", "No, a joke implies humor attached at no additional cost"
So many sayings, so little sig space.
TexasGuy is offline  
Old 03-01-11, 12:07 AM
  #48  
skiahh
Senior Member
 
skiahh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: CO Springs, CO
Posts: 1,033

Bikes: 08 Stumpjumper FSR Expert, 02 Litespeed Tuscany, 04 Specialized S-Works Epic

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by TexasGuy View Post
But that doesn't make sense...................
That is a 3 year old post and talking about a behavior that has, I think been LONG nixed. The default behavior, and as far as I know has been for a long time to always redirect you to an SSL encrypted page.

And an SSL Encrypted page should be just that.
I know... but it's the only thing I can think of for how someone was able to send mail from my gmail account.

Maybe using a mobile browser, it's not all SSL or something, I don't know. I just know it happened. And only once, a few hours after I was playing with my phone at the airport and tried their open wifi connection. I won't make that mistake again.

But saying a page is encrypted apparently doesn't mean that all data is. Here's a couple of other articles to peruse:

https://devcentral.f5.com/weblogs/mac...ncryption.aspx
https://blogs.computerworld.com/17254...with_firesheep
skiahh is offline  
Old 03-01-11, 01:36 AM
  #49  
busted knuckles
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: wa
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Kris, what game(s) are you playing?
busted knuckles is offline  
Old 03-01-11, 01:48 AM
  #50  
KrisPistofferson
Immoderator
Thread Starter
 
KrisPistofferson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: POS Tennessee
Posts: 7,630

Bikes: Gary Fisher Simple City 8, Litespeed Obed

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by busted knuckles View Post
Kris, what game(s) are you playing?
Mass Effect 2.
__________________
Originally Posted by Bikeforums
Your rights end where another poster's feelings begin.
KrisPistofferson is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.