Search
Notices
Classic and Vintage Bicycles: Whats it Worth? Appraisals. Use this subforum for all requests as to "How much is this vintage bike worth?"Do NOT try to sell it in here, use the Marketplaces.

Help me ID my grocery-getter/commuter?

Search this Thread

Old 02-09-18, 10:47 PM
nucls

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Help me ID my grocery-getter/commuter?

I'm new to bikeforums so I hope I'm posting this in the right area...

I picked this bike up for $200 from a local used bike shop about 8 months ago, swapped out the rear derailleur, brake pads, tires and seat and it's been a pretty solid commuter/grocery-getter since.

I dig the aesthetics of the bike (spot rust notwithstanding) and I'm curious if anyone can positively ID the make...maybe Nishiki, Univega or Viscount? A previous owner removed the stickers and badge but I've posted the serial numbers below.

Not sure which components are original but this is what it came to me with:

Sugino Mighty Competion 54/48T crankset
Sun Tour rear derailleur
Compe front derailleur
Compe stem
KB Japan Champion Handlebars
weinmann 610 / vainqueur 99 front brake
weinmann 750 /vainqueur rear brake

Possible clue(s):
The bottom bracket serial number: KS 194596 / W03bry
The dropout stamping: WCC ... and I think S C but the last two characters are nearly gone.
No water-bottle bosses but it does have eyelets for fenders/mudguards.

I enjoy steel frames and it'd be fun to know this bike's history. Thank you for taking the time to take a look!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg
kKOfcML.jpg (1.49 MB, 138 views)
Old 02-09-18, 10:59 PM
grayEZrider

Bikes: '13 Specialized Elite, KHS 223, '94 Trek 2120, 92 Raleigh technium, '87 Centurion LeMans, '86 Centurion IronMan, 2019 Canyon Endurace Al

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked 63 Times in 36 Posts
big clue..

I don't remember what brand, but that wrap-around chain stay on the seat post lug strikes me a a big clue.