Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Training & Nutrition
Reload this Page >

Burning, No Improvement - Help!

Search
Notices
Training & Nutrition Learn how to develop a training schedule that's good for you. What should you eat and drink on your ride? Learn everything you need to know about training and nutrition here.

Search this Thread

Old 08-31-18, 03:29 PM
NewPainNoGain

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hello,

I'm not sure if this is the right forum to post in, but I figured some people must have gone through something similar and have some advice.

I recently decided to get back in shape and to start, got a stationary recumbent bike. I've been using it for a few months, 3 times per week for 30 minutes, doing intervals. When I first started, my quads burned (between the mid upper thigh and the knee on the direct top, not the side). I thought this would get better in time as I built the muscle. However, if anything, it's getting worse. My intervals are getting shorter and shorter in terms of how I can push it before it really burns (like 30 seconds or less). Then I subside and the burning dissipates. There's no lasting pain or problems after the biking is finished, but it is a lot of discomfort at the time and it doesn't seem to be improving.

Any ideas for what could be happening and how I could address it? I'd really appreciate it!
Old 08-31-18, 03:41 PM
taz777

Bikes: 5

Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked 25 Times in 19 Posts
I would do a LOT of other type of exercises. You are probably exercising a small number of muscles by using just this fitness bike as your sole means of exercising. Also, your 'fit' on the bike may not be ideal.

Try some core strength exercises, weights, squats, etc to build your strength and body in a more balanced way.
Old 08-31-18, 08:38 PM
Machka 
In Real Life

Bikes: Lots

Mentioned: 141 Post(s)
Quoted: 3203 Post(s)
Liked 596 Times in 329 Posts
Originally Posted by NewPainNoGain
Hello,