Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Early 90's Diamond Outlook Restoration

Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Old 08-02-20, 07:12 AM
WaffleHouse

Bikes: Fuji Traverse

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked 9 Times in 2 Posts

Preface: I am a newbie to DIY bicycle MX, and am learning a tremendous amount from these forums, so thank your insight and patience!

My sister gave me her early 90's DB Outlook (best guess is a '92 or '93) to clean up for her son after it sat in a garage for ~25 years.

My technical questions:
-Is grease or oil recommended for headset bearings?
-The chain ring says "Sugino". I was able to remove the NDS crank arm and BB "cup" to clean/repack the bearings. The drive side does not come off in the same fashion. From my online research, it APPEARS to be a Sunlite 3-piece bottom bracket cup set. Do I need to invest in a puller in order to grease the DS BB Bearings?
-The rims are chromed and have light surface rust/pitting. After I have cleaned those, does anyone have recommendations for preventative measures to keep rust from coming back? I.e. will wiping them down with a thin coat of WD40 help prevent rust from coming back?

As always, thank you for your help!
Old 08-02-20, 07:57 AM
dsbrantjr

Bikes: '93 Trek 750, '92 Schwinn Crisscross, '93 Mongoose Alta

Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Quoted: 1438 Post(s)
Liked 1,092 Times in 723 Posts
Grease for bearings
Wd-40 on rims will resist rust but will also resist proper brake function; never put anything on brake tracks or shoes, they are friction surfaces which need to be free of contaminants.
Old 08-02-20, 08:39 AM
WaffleHouse

Liked 9 Times in 2 Posts